Using offset commands

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in CAM Expert.

Moderator: andrew

Using offset commands

Postby mjkahler » Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:43 pm

I cannot find any documentation regarding the use of g41 and g42 offset commands... I am using an amada laser and cannot get the output files to offset to the correct side of the feature.. They generate to the center of the line only....Any suggestions???? :?: :?:
mjkahler
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:38 pm
Location: Coloarado,USA

Postby andrew » Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:16 am

The reason why you cannot find any documentation about this is that
CAM Expert does not directly support any type of specific commands
or formats (including G-Code).

CAM Expert outputs whatever is configured in the machine configuration
file (.cxm) which is used for the CAD -> CAM conversion. If there are
any G40/G41/G42 codes in there, they will be output to your file.
In fact you can output anything to the CNC file.

I.e. CAM Expert does not know or understand G-Code or any other
machine languages. It simply writes whatever is configured in the
.cxm file, be it G-Code, HP/GL or any other file format or language.

CAM Expert can use tool offset corrections under the following condition:
- All contours are closed and have the same orientation (clockwise
or counter-clockwise). Note that CAM Expert can automatically reorder
all closed contours in one or the other orientation (see CAM export dialog).

If this is the case, you can simply output a static G41 or G42 in
the order that starts a new contour (OrderContourStart) and a G40
in OrderContourEnd.

If your drawing is more complex than that, you might want to split it
up in a drawing that contains all CW contours, one with all CCW contours,
one with all open countours, etc.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2592
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am


Return to CAM Expert 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest