Page 1 of 1

run a modified script

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:56 am
by Surendranath
How do I run a script after modifying it?
Should I restart qcad or is there some reload option from the command line?
I am a beginner and I need to modify the code if does not give the right result.
Restarting qcad each time seems heavy.

Re: run a modified script

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:05 am
by andrew
Try these command line switches for development:

Code: Select all

-always-load-scripts             Forces reloading of scripts when they are used.
                                 This is mainly useful during script development,
                                 to apply changes without restarting QCAD.

-enable-script-debugger          Enables the script debugger.

-rescan                          Rescan scripts folder for new plugins
See also ./qcad -h

Note that -enable-script-debugger can also lead to crashes or unpredictable behavior, but it can be helpful for debugging. The debugger comes up if there's an error or if it meet a debugger statement:

Code: Select all

debugger;

Re: run a modified script

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:33 pm
by Surendranath
I tried the command line options and they did not work for me.
This is my scenario. I have the script file open in a text editor.
I run this script from QCAD. it works.
I modify a line in the script file and call it again. It is the old file that is being executed.

Re: run a modified script

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:57 pm
by andrew
Thanks. I've filed a bug report at:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/in ... ask_id=745