Linetype name inconsistency

Discussion forum for C++ and script developers who are using the QCAD development platform or who are looking to contribute to QCAD (translations, documentation, etc).

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files, scripts and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
mink
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:20 pm

Linetype name inconsistency

Post by mink » Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:18 pm

Hy Andrew,

I have been silent for quite some time programming a lot of qcad plugin functionality without serious problems. This leads to a simple : Thanks a lot for your good work!

However, I found a little inconsistency on linetype names: wenn I use a new drawing, add a layer with lintype by layer, and draw a line on this layer, the graphics are ok. Getting the CPP-Entiypointer to the line as pEntity, and use

Code: Select all

			RLinetypePattern ltpat = pEntity->getLinetypePattern();
			QString ltName = ltpat.getName();
ltName contains the String "BYLAYER" (all uppercase).
Saving the drawing (as dxf), close it and load again.
Applying the same code segment leeds to ltNmae containing "ByLayer" (Camel case ...).

No big thing, but a little inconsistent ....

Regards,
Ulrich

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Linetype name inconsistency

Post by andrew » Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:23 am

Layer names, block names and linetype names are case insensitive by definition. Some (older) DXF versions always store BYLAYER (upper case), some seem to prefer ByLayer. This should happen behind the scene though.

mink
Active Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:20 pm

Re: Linetype name inconsistency

Post by mink » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:19 am

Thanks for the info!

Regards,
Ulrich

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Programming, Script Programming and Contributing”