Yes I also agree with you here. I think the fact that we now have these two extremely handy tools is a massive bonus and is a start in the right direction.
For me I guess I will use these tools when I am at the end of a drawing and finished or when I receive a drawing that needs a lot of cleaning up - this will save me so much time
However, when we have a template including predefined layers, we don't really want to lose them, so the additional option to 'double lock' a layer to make it exempt from being purged would be good.
For now, we can happily purge an already saved template/drawing but use the 'save as' when closing, this way keeping our original template the same - just a thought
Guys, I think you should add some feature requests for added options for these tools