Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Joern » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:53 am

Hallo,
i am a bloody beginner and therefore my question will sound trivial:

After copying or rotating or moving etc. an object I cannot perform exact distance measurements e.g. between circle and center. When measuring in the original drawing the programme will show "referenz" for the center. In the copy it will show "raster" and that will result in any odd but not correct values.

What do I do wrong when copying etc.?

Thank you for help.
Kind regards

Joern
Joern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:22 am

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Clive » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:13 am

Hi Joren and welcome.

1.Is this with a new drawing in QCAD or working with an imported drawing?
2.When you for example copy a circle - where are you copying it to?
- is it the same current drawing?
- a new drawing and if so, what format are you saving to -DXF, DWG or exporting to SVG etc....?
And lastly what Operating System are you using?
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Joern » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:15 pm

Hi Clive,
thanks for your speedy reaction.

It is a new drawing in QCAD and I copy the circle into the same current drawing in order to duplicate an object.
I save it as *.dxf and my OS is W7 64 bit.
Now that you asked, it appears to me that the trouble starts after saving because I controlled the the distances after drawing. At that time they were o.k.
When I open a saved drawing, the measuring procedure will be as described in my mail, but funnily enough not in all cases.
Can't imagine it's QCAD, it must be me.

Regards and thanks

Joern
Joern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:22 am

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Clive » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:33 pm

Presumably you are working with the same 'default' drawing units (Edit > Application preferences > Default drawing unit) throughout all old/new drawings?

You refer to 'Raster' in your post - this normally refers to a graphic image (like a photo image etc..), do you still get this message in the command line?
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Joern » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:03 pm

Hallo Clive,
I'm working with the same default drawing units throughout all old/new drawings.
Raster does not appear in command line ( N.B. I got an installation with german language!)
I'd like to mail you two files with simple drawings, one where you can measure as one should, the other where it doesn't work.

But I don't know how???

Regards

Joern
Joern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:22 am

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Clive » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:15 pm

The easiest thing to do is to attach your drawings and post them here on the forum so we can have a look at them.
1. Post reply and use the upload attachment option.
2. Navigate to your files and submit them.

*If you need to keep them more private by all means email them to me or Andrew (I would share any files with Andrew anyway for testing purposes). Simply click on mine or Andrews user name and then send us a private message and use the upload attachment option from there.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Joern » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:41 pm

Hallo Clive,
thank you again for your prompt answers. I really do appriciate that.

The radii in the drawings are: 528,9 mm (small radius), 643,5 mm (big radius).

Looking forward to your findings.

Regards

Joern
Attachments
Rampen Ost-West kleiner Innenschwenk mit 10 mm Überstand Richtigkeit unsicher.dxf
Here it doesn't work
(45.86 KiB) Downloaded 160 times
Rampe West 4 Bögen 90° mit 10 mm Überstand.dxf
Here it works
(42.78 KiB) Downloaded 153 times
Joern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:22 am

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Clive » Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:57 pm

I couldn`t find any difference in size of radii between the copies in your first drawing.
A and B and my added copy C are exact sized copies, no problems with this.

Did you mean the location of the copied object, if so refer to the attached photo`s for tips.
Please do not hesitate to explain further if you need to.
Attachments
Test file 1.png
Test file 1.png (19.91 KiB) Viewed 2992 times
Test file 2.png
Test file 2.png (29.02 KiB) Viewed 2992 times
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Joern » Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:14 am

Hallo Clive,
thank you for all your bother. Unfortunately I could not verify your findings.
To show you what I mean, I will send two printscreens, one (sample 1) where it says "raster" and where you are unable to hit the centre of the circle segment exactly and the other (sample 2) where it says "referenz" and where you are able to hit the centre of circle and measure correctly.
Has all this to do with the snapping ("fang") function? I tried with and without - same result. But as far as I got to know QCAD by now (which is rather little!) it should do the right thing automatically.
Regards and thanks.

Joern
Attachments
sample 1.jpg
sample 1 "raster"
sample 1.jpg (239.99 KiB) Viewed 2970 times
sample 2.jpg
sample 2 "referenz"
sample 2.jpg (265.69 KiB) Viewed 2970 times
Joern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:22 am

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Clive » Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:48 am

OK I understand now Joern, yes its a 'Snap' options method.
1.First go to Information Tools (WM) > Distance Point to Point (IP) - in the Snap options choose Center (SC) -then move cursor (Hover) over the arc in question > click to define first point.
2. Then change snap to Middle (SM) - click back onto arc -this should do the trick :wink:
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Clive » Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:59 am

Actually thinking about this properly a bit more - all you need to do is keep the snap setting on Auto (SA) and first select the middle of the arc and then change the snap setting to center (SC) and move the cursor back to the arc and the second point will 'snap' to the center!
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Measuring distance after copy or rotation etc.

Postby Joern » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:20 pm

Hallo Clive,

Thank you, both suggested procedures did the trick.

All the best

Joern
Joern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:22 am


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests