Problem loading DXF with control point splines [solved]

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Problem loading DXF with control point splines [solved]

Postby andrewb » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:58 am

Hi Folks,

I've had an issue loading certain DXF files with splines properly. It seems that QCAD is borking up the interpretation of the splines resulting in 'wave-y' lines. I have loaded the same DXF into other CAD apps (such as ViaCAD) and they load just fine. If it helps, it seems all of the splines in question are control point splines.

Here is the DXF loaded in QCAD:
QCAD Small.png
QCAD Small.png (57.78 KiB) Viewed 1657 times


Note the rounded gear teeth, the skewed boxes around the text and the squared 'O's and circle surrounding the keyway.

Here is the same DXF loaded (correctly) in ViaCAD:
ViaCAD Small.png
ViaCAD Small.png (70.78 KiB) Viewed 1657 times


The DXF itself is from the 'Graphics for rotarians' website under 'Logos for architechual (sic) and contour cutting'. Googling 'Rotary DXF' gives the page as the first result. If the forum will allow me, here is a link to the file (just remove the spaces):

http://www.graphics-for-rotarians.org/g ... _wheel.DXF

Cheers!

Andrew
andrewb
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:28 am

Re: Problem loading DXF with control point splines

Postby andrew » Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:40 pm

Thanks for the report and file.

I can confirm that such splines (clamped at individual control points) are not supported in QCAD 3.0.

The current development version seems to display your file fine, so this will very likely be solved in the next update. A new development snapshot will likely be released before April 15.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Problem loading DXF with control point splines

Postby andrew » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:57 pm

A new snapshot release of QCAD (3.0.9) which fixes the above problem is now available from the customer area:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/en/customer-area
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Problem loading DXF with control point splines

Postby Clive » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:16 pm

andrew wrote:A new snapshot release of QCAD (3.0.9) which fixes the above problem is now available from the customer area:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/en/customer-area


Yep - that's got it 8)
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Problem loading DXF with control point splines

Postby andrewb » Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:02 am

Fantastic! Works great. Thank you for such a quick response :)

Cheers,

Andrew
andrewb
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:28 am


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron