QCAD 3.0 RC2 crashes on open - Linux

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

QCAD 3.0 RC2 crashes on open - Linux

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:06 pm

I downloaded the latest QCAD 3.0 RC2 version for Linux. I used the zip file version. I extracted it but when I run the startup script QCAD starts to open, the main window appears, but just before the actual drawing screen appears, it crashes and closes. I see these message in the terminal window:

Debug: Init script plugins...
Warning: RGuiAction::getByScriptFile: no action found: "Scheme"
Debug: TIMER: 2021 ms - "loading and initializing plugins"
Warning: QScriptEngine::newVariant(): changing class of non-QScriptObject not supported
Debug: Creating storage...
Debug: Creating spatial index...
Debug: Creating document...
Debug: Creating MDI child...
Debug: Initialize Viewports...
Debug: Init graphics view...
Debug: Init scrollbars...
Debug: Init rulers...
Debug: Init idle and default actions...
Warning: QScriptEngine::newVariant(): changing class of non-QScriptObject not supported
Warning: QScriptEngine::newVariant(): changing class of non-QScriptObject not supported
Debug: Show MDI child...
Debug: Init event handler...
Debug: updateScenes...
Debug: updateGuiActions...
Debug: notifyListenersSlot...

(qcad-bin:10530): GdkPixbuf-WARNING **: Bug! loader 'png' didn't set an error on failure

(qcad-bin:10530): Gtk-WARNING **: Error loading theme icon 'window-close' for stock: Internal error: Image loader module 'png' failed to complete an operation, but didn't give a reason for the failure

(qcad-bin:10530): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed

** (qcad-bin:10530): CRITICAL **: murrine_style_draw_render_icon: assertion `base_pixbuf != NULL' failed

(qcad-bin:10530): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_style_render_icon: assertion `pixbuf != NULL' failed

(qcad-bin:10530): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_pixels: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed

(qcad-bin:10530): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_width: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed

(qcad-bin:10530): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_get_height: assertion `GDK_IS_PIXBUF (pixbuf)' failed
./qcad: line 35: 10530 Segmentation fault LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$DIR" "$binary" $OPT1 $OPT2 "$@"

Any thoughts as to how to fix this?
Thanks,
Herb
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:49 pm

Ok, well, I tried that. Ran the installer, got the desktop icon, but it still crashes. The main window just flashes and disappears. I got this message when I ran the qcad-bin file from the terminal:

error while loading shared libraries: libQtWebKit.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I'm running Linux-Mint, which is built from Ubuntu, so I was hopeful, but no luck yet.

Herb
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:59 pm

Clive,

It says that it's not available. Perhaps I'm not connected to the correct repo. Do you know which repo it's in?

Herb
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:23 pm

QCAD shell script, QCAD Desktop config file, and qcad-bin all have read-only access for Others and the Run as program box is checked. Is there anything else that I need to be aware of?
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:31 pm

I tried running from the terminal window...I got a number of messages, but the last one was this:

./qcad: line 35: 11573 Segmentation fault LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$DIR" "$binary" $OPT1 $OPT2 "$@"

The library that it's looking for, libQtWebKit.so.4 is located in the directory with the QCAD script. It "seems" like it has a bad definition for the library path where the seg fault is showing up. Does that make any sense?
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:51 pm

Clive,

Ok, well thanks for the help anyway. This is clearly beyond my ability to make any sense out of it.

Herb
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:21 pm

Clive,

Ok, did all that...same result.

Herb[/quote]
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby HerbSmith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:32 pm

Yes, I can do that. For what it's worth, the same exact behavior happens on my Fedora 14 system as well. So I don't think it's anything to do with the fact that I'm running Linux Mint rather than Ubuntu.

Thanks for your help.

Herb
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby hungerburg » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:36 pm

This is just a quick idea, but this message seems to indicate something with theming: (qcad-bin:10530): GdkPixbuf-WARNING **: Bug! loader 'png' didn't set an error on failure.

The qcad script should take care of that on x64 systems. But nevertheless, try and launch "qtconfig" from shell or applications menu and choose another theme, eg. "plastique".
User avatar
hungerburg
Premier Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:35 pm

Postby andrew » Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:12 pm

hungerburg wrote:The qcad script should take care of that on x64 systems. But nevertheless, try and launch "qtconfig" from shell or applications menu and choose another theme, eg. "plastique".


Or try the -style command line switch:

./qcad -style platsique
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby HerbSmith » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:23 am

Andrew,
I assume you meant plastique. I tried that, here's what I got:

./qcad -style plastique
.
./qcad-bin
./qcad: line 38: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
./qcad: line 40: syntax error: unexpected end of file
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby andrew » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:03 am

That's just the wrapper script that breaks on your system. What version of bash do you have installed?

Code: Select all
bash --version


To work around the script, start QCAD as follows:

Code: Select all
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=. ./qcad-bin -style plastique


If you are using another shell, the idea here is to make sure that QCAD looks in the current working directory for shared libraries (like the file 'libQtWebKit.so.4' you have mentioned). You may also export LD_LIBRARY_PATH or the equivalent thereof in your shell.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby HerbSmith » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:02 pm

Andrew,

GNU bash, version 4.2.10(1)-release (i686-pc-linux-gnu)
Copyright (C) 2011 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>

This is whatever came with the Linux Mint 12 installation.

The suggestion worked just fine and yes, I can fix that up so it has it each time I log in.

Thank you so much. QCAD is great, I have been a user for some time and am very excited about the new version.

Herb
HerbSmith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:58 pm

Postby hungerburg » Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:46 pm

If I understand correctly, the qcad wrapper only forces "plastique" on systems with a kernel that advertises *Ubuntu*, but the theming issue also affects systems, that will not match this. Eg. mint, ubuntu with homegrown kernels etc.

The /black list/ could be amended, or turned into a /white list/ instead or plastique forced on all 64bit systems?
User avatar
hungerburg
Premier Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:35 pm

Postby andrew » Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:56 pm

-style plastique should probably be forced on all 64bit systems using the Gnome Desktop (or certain versions thereof). Forcing it on all 64bit systems will leave the significant number of KDE desktop users with a non-consistent user interface experience. The start-up script also seems to require adjustments to make it Bash version 4 compatible.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Next

Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests