autosnap [solved]

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

autosnap [solved]

Postby J-J » Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:08 pm

Win7-64 - QCAD 3.0

There is on thing that bothers me, the autosnap never seems to work for "on entity", I realize it is the last priority, but I find it very quite useful in many cases, i.e. dimensioning. This feature was working very well in ver 2.2.2.0.
Any reason for that?
Thanks.
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: autosnap

Postby andrew » Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:41 pm

J-J wrote:Any reason for that?


Yes. Autosnap to nearest point on entity can be very slow for certain types of drawings. It also is (read 'should be') very rarely used since it is not considered to be a precision tool (the exact point is not defined). The best solution is probably to make auto snap configurable.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: autosnap

Postby Clive » Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:20 pm

J-J wrote:There is on thing that bothers me, the autosnap never seems to work for "on entity"
This feature was working very well in ver 2.2.2.0.


I may have miss-understood here, but do you mean the 'On Entity' snap option was included in the 'Auto' snap tool in version 2.2.2 ?
See below:

' On Entity '.png
' On Entity '.png (7.65 KiB) Viewed 1165 times


If this is what you mean here, then I think Andrews solution would be good - to be able to configure the Auto snap tool to be able to include this snap option again and indeed include (or not) any of the snap offerings.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: autosnap

Postby J-J » Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:39 pm

I agree, point is not defined, but it comes in handy when dimensioning from a center line for example...

Clive, try it with 2.2.2.0, you will see the difference.
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Re: autosnap

Postby Clive » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:53 am

J-J wrote:Clive, try it with 2.2.2.0, you will see the difference.


J-J, yes I thought that is what you meant. I have tried it already and I agree with you it is very useful.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: autosnap

Postby andrew » Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:45 pm

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: autosnap

Postby J-J » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:26 pm

Thanks Andrew, you're a fast and efficient person!
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest