Snap Commands Downloaded Trial Mac

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

wmgeorge
Newbie Member

Snap Commands Downloaded Trial Mac

Post by wmgeorge » Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:47 pm

I am new to QCAD and really, really would like to make it work. On a MacBook Pro, El Capitan, 8Gb memory. Downloaded version of QCAD.

Yes I want to purchase if I can make it work.

My background. Been using AutoDesk products since 1992. Use nearly every day AutoCAD LT 2008. Coral Draw X6 and Fusion 360.

I am working in mm, would like the GRID set at say 10 mm and the SNAP at 5mm. I go into application setup and have unchecked ALL the Auto Snap settings in an attempt to just be able to set the SNAP manually but every time I go to draw something its back to Auto Snap.... Again. Yes I SAVE the settings in the Application default window. The only way I can get it to draw now is Select Free under SNAP pull down?

andrew
Site Admin

Re: Snap Commands Downloaded Trial Mac

Post by andrew » Wed Nov 04, 2015 5:04 pm

wmgeorge wrote:I am working in mm, would like the GRID set at say 10 mm and the SNAP at 5mm.
This is not possible. The grid snap can only snap to visible grid points.
wmgeorge wrote:I go into application setup and have unchecked ALL the Auto Snap settings
This is generally not a good idea because it makes auto snap useless.
in an attempt to just be able to set the SNAP manually but every time I go to draw something its back to Auto Snap.... Again.
QCAD reverses to auto snap whenever a new tool is started. This is because users tend to panic (and post bug reports) when they find that QCAD suddenly snaps to end points only, thinking that something is broken.