[*Solved]Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 after Trial

Post your question about installing or upgrading QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

floodfill
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:58 am

[*Solved]Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 after Trial

Postby floodfill » Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:22 am

Hello, I have installed the QCAD 3.0 Trial version (Windows XP Pro) last week, bought and installed then the 3.0 RC5 (4.7.4) Full Version - uninstalled the Trial first.
Problem: the QCAD Library Browser still searches the library under /QCAD Professional Trial/library/... (directory was automatically properly deleted by uninstall routine).

Is there anywhere a config file for instance to change the settings? Thank you in advance, flood'

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby Clive » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:18 am

hi and welcome floodfill

Try removing the 'roaming data' file.
1. Un-install again.
2.In Windows search field type in %appdata% and open the Roaming folder.
3.Right-click on the Ribbonsoft folder and delete the lot! (QCAD will simply rebuild this folder on your next install).
4.Now reinstall.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 4271
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby andrew » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:26 am

floodfill:

You might simply be able to change the library browser path in the preferences of the library browser:
- start the library browser
- Edit - Preferences
- Remove the wrong path from the list of sources
- You can optionally add new paths but QCAD defaults to the library included with QCAD if nothing is configured

clive:

QCAD only uses the Registry to make the connection between .dxf / .dwg files and QCAD. All configuration is stored in .ini files.

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby Clive » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:44 am

andrew wrote:clive:
QCAD only uses the Registry to make the connection between .dxf / .dwg files and QCAD. All configuration is stored in .ini files.

Thanks Andrew for the direction on this.

floodfill
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby floodfill » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:00 am

@andrew and @clive: Thank you, please mark problem as *solved*!
Used the solution by andrew. I have started the browser, waiting, holding down the enter key until the "errors" are gone and the QCAD Library Browser will open. Changed settings to new directory.


Return to “QCAD 3 Installation and Upgrades”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests