PC upgrade

Post your question about installing or upgrading to QCAD 2.1/2.2. Be sure to search, and check the docs before you post!

Moderator: andrew

PC upgrade

Postby J-J » Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:24 pm

I have been using QCAD pro for over two years on a windows XP platform. My machine having failed, I ordered new components to assemble a unit with more performance. Intel core i7 processor, and the vendor suggested Windows 7, 64 bits. From what I read in the forums, the latter may not be the best option for QCAD. So before I break the seal on the Windows box, I am seeking advice on whether I should exchange it for a 32 bit version.
Thanks for your help.
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm

Postby andrew » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:45 am

64bit won't cause any problems if it's Windows or Mac OS X.

Only some 64bit Linux distributions don't have a straight forward strategy to run 32bit applications on them.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Postby J-J » Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:15 pm

Thanks Andrew, I can get back to work then!
JJ
User avatar
J-J
Moderator
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:48 pm


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Installation and Upgrades

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron