Printouts are blank

Use this forum to ask questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi,
I have just started to use qcad community but when I try to print I only get blank pages. PDf's are also blank, despite being OK in preview and getting "export complete" message in command toolbar I have adjusted paper and drawing units to match and can see page outline. Operating on XP Do I need the pro version?

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

[Edit by Mod, topic moved to Community Edition forum]
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Papy Octet » Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:37 pm

Hello,

Are you shure you are not drawing in with color ?
Debian 7 - Qcad-Prof 3.4.6
User avatar
Papy Octet
Active Member
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:26 am
Location: Liège - BELGIQUE

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 4:57 pm

Hi,
I have used colours on drawing and in drawing preferences the printing is set to colour so I assume it should be visible
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:13 pm

Hi bozzle
Welcome to the forum
bozzle wrote: Do I need the pro version?]

No, not for printing.

From your explanation it seems you are doing things correctly, however if you cannot resolve this problem are you able to set up a simple example drawing and post it here on the forum, so we can test it out?
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:31 pm

Clive,
I can copy with printscreen but cannot paste to this reply
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:45 pm

You can reply and attach a dxf using the 'Upload attachment' option under the message box.

Upload Attachment.png
Upload Attachment.png (12.79 KiB) Viewed 868 times
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:47 pm

bozzle wrote:Clive,
I can copy with printscreen but cannot paste to this reply


Or unless this file is private of course, that's why I suggested to draw up a quick example file and attach it so that we can try to reproduce the issue and resolve it.

[Edit: Just had another thought about this problem, check your line weights are not 0.00]
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 7:07 pm

Clive,

Line weight is 0.35mm File attached
Attachments
test1.dxf
(17.35 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:01 pm

Do not understand what happened as file no longer exists on my pc. Please find another one

When I boot up I only get to 97% then get a message "report translation error" which may have followed me cancelling purchase options. Should I reinstall?
Attachments
test2.dxf
(19.5 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:17 pm

Test2 opens fine for me and exports to pdf without problems.

'Booting up to 97%' , please explain - is this with test1, test2 or something else.
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Husky » Sat Mar 22, 2014 9:04 pm

Hi bozzle,

your Drawing Unit and your Paper Unit is right now adjusted for Meters ... what means your Paper size is 210x297 Meters. Maybe a little bit to big for your Printer :wink:

Please change the settings to mm. You can do that for the current drawing below:
Edit / Drawing Preferences / General / Drawing Units

Or if you like to have this settings for all new drawing:
Edit / Application Preferences / Defaults for new drawings / Drawing Unit

Hope this will fix the print problem. If not .... :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:39 am

Guys,
Having adjusted paper size the print function operates as expected. Many thanks for your help
bozzle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:24 am

Hey bozzle, glad you got this sorted out, enjoy QCAD :wink:

Husky
Ahh shoot, I missed the obvious with this one :roll: thanks.
Clive
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to QCAD Community 3 Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest