Just for fun - QCAD drawing challenge !!!

Drop in here to discuss whatever you want.

Moderator: andrew

Just for fun - QCAD drawing challenge !!!

Postby Clive » Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:23 pm

Hi Guys
A good way to improve your drawing skills with QCAD is indeed just by drawing.
For those of you who are interested, I have set a challenge as follows - it is of course just for fun, but hopefully it will help you to explore different tools and aspects of QCAD that you may not ordinarily use 8). This challenge will get you thinking about using construction lines a lot and if you attempt the whole challenge then it will get you thinking about the 'isometric' projection possibilities of QCAD too.
The drawing challenge is of a masonry stonework construction.

Some hints to get you started:
Set up layers
Use construction lines
Rotate Two tool
Isometric projection tool
Isometric View - grid options
Hatch tool

Please feel free to post finished drawings here too and share any tips and tricks that you find along the way, which may help others!

Attached:
1. Part finished drawing dxf - which you will need to complete.
Masonry drawing challenge.dxf
(107.02 KiB) Downloaded 196 times

2. This is what the finished 'Front' view should look like.

Challenge 1.png
Challenge 1.png (10.17 KiB) Viewed 2759 times


3. This is what an 'Isometric' projection of the front view should look like - you will need to finish and use the front view for this.

Isometric challenge.png
Isometric challenge.png (11.3 KiB) Viewed 2759 times


Have fun :wink:
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just for fun - QCAD drawing challenge !!!

Postby Clive » Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:16 am

Okay guys, I posted this little challenge back in July of this year. Did anyone attempt and finish it ?
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Just for fun - QCAD drawing challenge !!!

Postby Grunt » Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:51 pm

Hi Clive.

I've recently downloaded Qcad after trying other drawing software and not being able to get on with them. Qcad certainly meets my needs and is very user friendly. The last time I mucked about with CAD was 15 or so years ago on Auto Cad. So with some trepidation I will rise to your drawing challenge.

I have a couple of questions though.

1. Is there an 'array' option f the central circle of 'bricks' or is it move/ copy?
2. Is it possible to copy from one layer to another, deleting the selected entity from it's original layer?

Thanks in advance.
Grunt
Registered Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:39 pm

Re: Just for fun - QCAD drawing challenge !!!

Postby Clive » Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:27 am

Grunt, welcome to the forum.

Just picked this up, been busy with festive stuff.

Grunt wrote:1. Is there an 'array' option f the central circle of 'bricks' or is it move/ copy?
2. Is it possible to copy from one layer to another, deleting the selected entity from it's original layer?


1.The Rotate Two tool is used.
2.Select required layer,use the Move/Copy tool and in the dialog window choose to delete the original or you can use the 'Cut' with reference tool and paste to the new layer.
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest