[*Solved]Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 after Trial

Post your question about installing or upgrading QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

[*Solved]Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 after Trial

Postby floodfill » Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:22 am

Hello, I have installed the QCAD 3.0 Trial version (Windows XP Pro) last week, bought and installed then the 3.0 RC5 (4.7.4) Full Version - uninstalled the Trial first.
Problem: the QCAD Library Browser still searches the library under /QCAD Professional Trial/library/... (directory was automatically properly deleted by uninstall routine).

Is there anywhere a config file for instance to change the settings? Thank you in advance, flood'
floodfill
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby Clive » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:18 am

hi and welcome floodfill

Try removing the 'roaming data' file.
1. Un-install again.
2.In Windows search field type in %appdata% and open the Roaming folder.
3.Right-click on the Ribbonsoft folder and delete the lot! (QCAD will simply rebuild this folder on your next install).
4.Now reinstall.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby andrew » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:26 am

floodfill:

You might simply be able to change the library browser path in the preferences of the library browser:
- start the library browser
- Edit - Preferences
- Remove the wrong path from the list of sources
- You can optionally add new paths but QCAD defaults to the library included with QCAD if nothing is configured

clive:

QCAD only uses the Registry to make the connection between .dxf / .dwg files and QCAD. All configuration is stored in .ini files.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2604
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby Clive » Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:44 am

andrew wrote:clive:
QCAD only uses the Registry to make the connection between .dxf / .dwg files and QCAD. All configuration is stored in .ini files.

Thanks Andrew for the direction on this.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Library Browser Error Installing 3.0 full after Trial

Postby floodfill » Wed Jun 27, 2012 11:00 am

@andrew and @clive: Thank you, please mark problem as *solved*!
Used the solution by andrew. I have started the browser, waiting, holding down the enter key until the "errors" are gone and the QCAD Library Browser will open. Changed settings to new directory.
floodfill
Registered Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:58 am


Return to QCAD 3 Installation and Upgrades

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests