Dimensions all show %, -1f

If you are having problems with QCAD 2.1/2.2, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby RayArdia » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:49 pm

Using ver 2.2.2.0 on Ubuntu 12.04.
Dimensions show their normal arrows etc but instead of the actual dim (in mm) they all show ' %, 1f'.
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby andrew » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:59 pm

Thanks for your report.

Please submit some follow-up information, to help us understand the problem:
Is this the case for newly created dimensions also or only for dimensions loaded from an existing file?
Was the file created with another CAD application?
What does the property editor show as property 'label' for such a dimension?
If this report applies to a particular file only, please attach or e-mail that file if possible.

Thanks.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2602
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby RayArdia » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:26 pm

1.Is this the case for newly created dimensions also or only for dimensions loaded from an existing file?
For newly created dimensions. The file had no existing dimensions.
2.Was the file created with another CAD application? Yes, with LibreCAD.
3.What does the property editor show as property 'label' for such a dimension? Not sure what you mean by this, sorry!
4.If this report applies to a particular file only, please attach or e-mail that file if possible. File added.
Rabbit Hutch Details.dxf
(43.19 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby Clive » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:25 pm

RayArdia wrote:3.What does the property editor show as property 'label' for such a dimension? Not sure what you mean by this, sorry!

Ray
To show the property Editor go to - View - Toolbars - property Editor

QCAD 2 View -Toolbars - property Editor.png
QCAD 2 View -Toolbars - property Editor.png (74.12 KiB) Viewed 3732 times


This should 'dock' the property Editor on the right hand side of your window, when you highlight an entity (dimension in this case) the details will show in the property editor!

QCAD 2 Property Editor.png
QCAD 2 Property Editor.png (71 KiB) Viewed 3732 times
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby Clive » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:36 pm

[Edit: Updated test]

Ray
I`ve opened up your file in QCAD 2 and QCAD 3 and 2 other cad programs that I have access to at work and they have all correctly imported the same details ( %, -1f) from the file you attached.
QCAD 2
If I continue to work in the same/current drawing, yes agreed adding dimensions is a problem and gives the result that you have spoken about!
* However working on a new drawing in QCAD 2 gives no problems with dimensions.
QCAD 3/ other 2 cad programs
Working in the same current drawing - I get no problems adding new dimensions.
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby Husky » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:46 pm

@ Clive - I agree. And it has nothing to do with the OS - same behavior with windows ...

Work around:

Open this particular drawing in 2.2.2.

Select the entirety drawing and copy it into the clipboard.

Open a new drawing and paste this drawing.

Maybe you have now to adjust the Text size etc. but the big problem is vanished .... :wink:
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby Clive » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:13 pm

Husky
Yes that`s what I found too, I suspect the problem lies with the initial imported file somehow!
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby RayArdia » Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:35 pm

Thanks to you all for your help. The copying/pasting works fine, as you say some adjustments to fonts etc needed,but it WORKS :)
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: Dimensions all show %, -1f

Postby Husky » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:05 pm

Glad to hear that! :D
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA


Return to QCAD 2.1/2.2 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest