How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby RayArdia » Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:24 pm

Hi Andrew,
Your post:-

Re: Turn on front, side, elevation views

Postby andrew » Fri May 18, 2012 8:57 am
Sure: the top and side view were drafted as usual with the QCAD 2D tools. the '3D' view is an isometric projection which was created from the front and side view with the isometric projection tool of QCAD.

Implies that an isometric view can be created from a front and side view of an object. Do the front+side views have to be created in a special way? How are the tools used please.
Regards,
Ray
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby RayArdia » Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:07 pm

Thanks Andrew, I'll give it a go!
Regards, Ray
RayArdia
Full Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: NW Spain

Re: How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby Husky » Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:01 pm

Hi together

I have a question to this topic .... 8)

Based on your drawing: If I use this shape with a solid hatch, put this into a block and try to create an isometric I will get an Isometric without the hatch but with double lines.

Is that how it should be? Why is the hatch lost but I have still the double lines from the hatch contour? It works fine without a block ..... 8)

Hatch Block Question.png
Hatch Block Question.png (3.36 KiB) Viewed 6147 times
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
 
Posts: 1129
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby Husky » Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:55 pm

Thanks for your effort but that is not the problem. My problem is based in the "Block isometric scenario" with a result of "No hatch but double lines".
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
 
Posts: 1129
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby Husky » Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:19 am

Thanks Clive!

clive wrote:Something to be added to the feature requests I think :wink:


I assume it should be a Bug report instead of a feature request :wink:
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
 
Posts: 1129
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby andrew » Tue Oct 09, 2012 12:27 pm

Thanks for jumping in, clive :)

I'm busy working on some isometric tools for 3.1 at the moment:
- isometric grid (left, right, top)
- isometric cursor (matches grid)
- isometric ortho mode (for drawing 90 degrees angles onto isometric plane directly)
- isometric projection onto cylinders (e.g. drilling into a cylinder, etc)
- isometric circle tool (produces ellipse on isometric plane)
- as usual, I'm making some other improvements along the way, for example an auto trim tool that extends or trims an entity to the next limiting entities

I will also post to the blog about these new features in a few days.

There will also likely be an intermediate 'snap-shop' release for interested users before the release of 3.1.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How do I use the Isometric Tool?

Postby andrew » Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:20 pm

clive wrote:* Definitely sign me up as being interested to try out an intermediate 'snap-shop' release, or will this be available on the downloads area?


Yes, I will create a section in the download area for snap-shots. The snap shot will be announced on the blog and in the announcement forum at:
viewforum.php?f=16
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests