≈ in a Dim Label?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD version 3

Moderator: andrew

≈ in a Dim Label?

Postby Husky » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:57 am

Selected Dim ... Property editor - Geometry - Label:
How can I put a in the Label? ≈<> doesn't works 8)

Thanks for help!
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: ≈ in a Dim Label?

Postby andrew » Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:54 am

The font used for dimension labels does not contain the 'Almost equal to' symbol (≈).
I've attached a font update. Drop it into the 'fonts' sub directory of your QCAD installation and replace the existing standard.cxf.
Attachments
Standard.cxf
(27.24 KiB) Downloaded 135 times
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2555
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: ≈ in a Dim Label?

Postby Clive » Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:58 pm

In addition, if you want to use symbols which are not in the standard.cxf. set for dimension labels this little 'work around' may help :wink:

My example:
1. Select the dimension in question.
2. Use the Explode tool.
3. In the property editor - select only the text and change the Font Name to something other than standard e.g. Arial.
4. Copy/paste, add your symbol in the contents field and hey presto -job done :wink:

applying 'one off' symbols.png
applying 'one off' symbols.png (15.23 KiB) Viewed 1612 times


If you have several to change, use the property editor to target your selections accordingly, explode then target selection again to the text again followed by the same above method!

applying 'one off' symbols 2.png
applying 'one off' symbols 2.png (2.57 KiB) Viewed 1612 times
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: ≈ in a Dim Label?

Postby Husky » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:51 pm

andrew wrote:The font used for dimension labels does not contain the 'Almost equal to' symbol (≈).
I've attached a font update.
Perfect - works - Thank you!
Any chance to get it also in the "Insert Symbol" menus ... maybe with one of the next QCAD updates .... :roll:
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: ≈ in a Dim Label?

Postby Husky » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:05 pm

clive wrote:In addition, if you want to use symbols which are not in the standard.cxf. set for dimension labels this little 'work around' may help :wink:

Hi Clive - thank you for your work around - but I try to avoid a "Exploded Dimension". I like to have a working automatic dimensioning in my drawings because I can always trust the displayed figures 8)
User avatar
Husky
Moderator
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: ≈ in a Dim Label?

Postby Clive » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:56 pm

Husky wrote:Hi Clive - thank you for your work around - but I try to avoid a "Exploded Dimension". I like to have a working automatic dimensioning in my drawings because I can always trust the displayed figures 8)

Absolutely, I agree - this workaround was more for ' one off ' symbols that could be added now and again! :wink:
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK


Return to QCAD 3 'How Do I' Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest