QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem [solved]

If you are having problems with QCAD, post here. Please report bugs through our Bug Tracker instead.

Always attach your original DXF or DWG file and mentions your QCAD version and the platform you are on.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
serge
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:29 pm

QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem [solved]

Post by serge » Fri Jun 21, 2013 8:40 am

Hello,

I'm using a Debian 7.1 Linux box (kernel 3.2.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.2.46-1 i686 GNU/Linux)
I've downloaded the qcad-3.1.2-pro-linux-x86_32.bin binary, installed it without trouble but when trying to to run qcad, I got the following problem :

Code: Select all

~/opt/qcad-3.1.2-pro-linux-x86_32$ sh ./qcad
./qcad-bin: /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./libQtCore.so.4)
./qcad-bin: /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./libQtGui.so.4)
./qcad-bin: /lib/i386-linux-gnu/i686/cmov/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by ./libQtNetwork.so.4)
Installed libc version is 2.13-38.
I think the origin of the problem is quite clear but the solution isn't.
any other solution than changing my distro (which I like)?

Thanks in advance,
Serge

User avatar
hungerburg
Premier Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:35 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by hungerburg » Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:52 pm

A "have been" debian user here:

As far as I can tell, the only real solution would be for Andrew to compile the package on debian 7.1, which would probably incur some trouble, but at least qt-dev might be ok there.

On the other hand, would bringing your system to debian 8 testing count as "changing my distro"?

josemarciosa
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:13 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by josemarciosa » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:22 pm

I have a same problem.
I am waiting a solution.

My System is:
- Debian 7 (wheezy) 64bits
- GLibC (Debian EGLIBC 2.13-38) 2.13

Is there a possibilities to compiling QCAD into debian 7, GLibC 2.13?

Thanks,

Marcio Araujo

User avatar
hungerburg
Premier Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:35 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by hungerburg » Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:49 am

As explained in this post, at least the 32bit version of a previous point release works in Debian 7: viewtopic.php?p=8091#p8091 - the poster did not mention though, which one exactly....

sphrases
Registered Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:19 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by sphrases » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:33 pm

I did following to get rid of the meassage about the glibc issue on Debian 7.1 x64 by
- download glibc-2.15 as "rpm" or "deb" package
- extract the folder lib64 (from rpm) or lib (from deb)
- copy the lib folder into the qcad directory
- add the folder to the start script: LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$DIR/lib:$DIR" "$binary" -style plastique "$@"
#!/bin/bash
#
# QCAD startup script
#

DIR=${0%/*}
binary="$DIR/qcad-bin"

# Many Linux distributions try to use a style plugin that
# is not available as 32bit version, links against another
# version of Qt or is otherwise incompatible. For this
# reason, this script forces the style to the integrated
# plastique style of Qt.

# The style may be changed here or removed to use the
# default style:

LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$DIR/lib:$DIR" "$binary" -style plastique "$@"
Problem: with glibc 2.15 I receive an segmentation fault:
QIconvCodec::convertFromUnicode: using Latin-1 for conversion, iconv_open failed
QIconvCodec::convertToUnicode: using Latin-1 for conversion, iconv_open failed
Debug: RDxfPlugin::init
Debug: RHelpPlugin::init
Debug: RProScriptsPlugin::init
./qcad: Zeile 18: 12962 Speicherzugriffsfehler LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$DIR/lib:$DIR" "$binary"
Problem: with glibc 2.16 & 2.17 (newer versions) I receive error while loading shared libraries:
./qcad-bin: error while loading shared libraries: __vdso_time: invalid mode for dlopen(): Invalid argument
and related to the 2.16/2.17 error message I found this (seems to be a known bug in glibc :( )
Bug 14905 - error while loading shared libraries: __vdso_time: invalid mode for dlopen()

smf
Premier Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by smf » Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:10 pm

Same problem with XUbuntu 10.04 LTS, where 3.0.0 works without any problems. I couldn't find a solution so far.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by andrew » Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:20 pm

I'm currently testing with binaries compiled against glibc 2.13 with good results on most platforms so far.
smf: what glibc version does XUbuntu 10.04 have (you can usually just run the library: /usr/libc.so.6 or similar)?
Also, is it the 32bit or the 64bit flavor?
Thanks.

smf
Premier Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by smf » Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:13 pm

It's 32 bit, calling
/lib/tls/i686/cmov/libc.so.6
gives:
GNU C Library (Ubuntu EGLIBC 2.11.1-0ubuntu7.12) stable release version 2.11.1, by Roland McGrath et al.
...
Compiled by GNU CC version 4.4.3.
Compiled on a Linux >>3.2.0-23-generic<< system on 2012-11-15.
...

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 9036
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by andrew » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:09 pm

QCAD 3.1.3 is now available with 32bit and 64bit Linux packages that should work on any Linux distribution with glibc >= 2.11.1, including Debian 7, Debian 7.1 and (X)Ubuntu 10.04:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=2475

smf
Premier Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:05 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by smf » Wed Jul 03, 2013 12:27 pm

now 3.1 works very well on XUbuntu 10.04 LTS, thank you so much!

josemarciosa
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:13 pm

Re: QCAD 3.1 on Debian 7.1 problem

Post by josemarciosa » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:04 am

Now QCAD 3.1 works very well on Debian Wheezy, thank you so much! :D :D :D :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Troubleshooting and Problems”