QCAD quits when trying to insert library item

If you are having problems with QCAD version 3, post here. Please report bugs here.

Moderator: andrew

QCAD quits when trying to insert library item

Postby carlhelquist » Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:48 pm

QCAD quits when inserting some library items. I created my own library items. When I tried to use them, the program would quit as soon as I tried to drag and drop the item into the drawing window. I have the same problem with the "default/misc/window" and "default/misc/5 title" library items. Other library items that came with the example libraries work fine.

Thanks,

Carl Helquist

Using QCADCAM 3.2.2 on Ubuntu 12.04
carlhelquist
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:12 pm

Re: QCAD quits when trying to insert library item

Postby Clive » Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:45 am

Hi Carl
You are correct, I have tested this and confirm the same behaviour on Linux Mint - 64.
I re-set all the permissions and even making a new folder to save newly created blocks to...but still the same problem persisted.

A bug report has been added:
http://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/in ... ask_id=904
User avatar
Clive
Moderator
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: QCAD quits when trying to insert library item

Postby andrew » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:06 am

The problem seems to occur with files which contain a block with the same name as the file name. E.g. the file is named 'MyBlock.dxf' and contains a block called 'MyBlock'. QCAD creates a block with the same name as the file name when inserting parts. Since the newly created block 'MyBlock' then contains another block called 'MyBlock, this creates a recursion.

To work around this, the preferred way it to create only part library items which contain no blocks at all (all entities defined in model space). When inserting such an item, a block with the name of the file name is created.

If your part library item must use blocks, they should not be named identically to the file name. Note that this can have other strange effects if the blocks in the part library item already exist in your drawing.

The previous version of QCAD always checked for recursions which has become too expensive and slow for files which contain many blocks.

The next version of QCAD will likely refuse to insert items that do not follow the rules above or possibly automatically rename those blocks to work around the problem.
User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: QCAD quits when trying to insert library item

Postby carlhelquist » Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:25 pm

Thanks. That's exactly what I was doing: creating a block and then using the same name for the file. Once I tried skipping the extra block creation step everything worked fine.

Carl Helquist
carlhelquist
Junior Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:12 pm


Return to QCAD 3 Troubleshooting and Problems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests