Printouts are blank

Use this forum to ask questions about the free QCAD Community Edition version 3

Moderator: andrew

bozzle
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:12 pm

Hi,
I have just started to use qcad community but when I try to print I only get blank pages. PDf's are also blank, despite being OK in preview and getting "export complete" message in command toolbar I have adjusted paper and drawing units to match and can see page outline. Operating on XP Do I need the pro version?

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

[Edit by Mod, topic moved to Community Edition forum]

User avatar
Papy Octet
Active Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:26 am
Location: Liège - BELGIQUE

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Papy Octet » Sat Mar 22, 2014 3:37 pm

Hello,

Are you shure you are not drawing in with color ?
Debian 7 - Qcad-Prof 3.4.6

bozzle
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 4:57 pm

Hi,
I have used colours on drawing and in drawing preferences the printing is set to colour so I assume it should be visible

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:13 pm

Hi bozzle
Welcome to the forum
bozzle wrote: Do I need the pro version?]

No, not for printing.

From your explanation it seems you are doing things correctly, however if you cannot resolve this problem are you able to set up a simple example drawing and post it here on the forum, so we can test it out?
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

bozzle
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:31 pm

Clive,
I can copy with printscreen but cannot paste to this reply

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:45 pm

You can reply and attach a dxf using the 'Upload attachment' option under the message box.

Upload Attachment.png
Upload Attachment.png (12.79 KiB) Viewed 4298 times
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:47 pm

bozzle wrote:Clive,
I can copy with printscreen but cannot paste to this reply


Or unless this file is private of course, that's why I suggested to draw up a quick example file and attach it so that we can try to reproduce the issue and resolve it.

[Edit: Just had another thought about this problem, check your line weights are not 0.00]
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

bozzle
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 7:07 pm

Clive,

Line weight is 0.35mm File attached
Attachments
test1.dxf
(17.35 KiB) Downloaded 121 times

bozzle
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:01 pm

Do not understand what happened as file no longer exists on my pc. Please find another one

When I boot up I only get to 97% then get a message "report translation error" which may have followed me cancelling purchase options. Should I reinstall?
Attachments
test2.dxf
(19.5 KiB) Downloaded 128 times

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:17 pm

Test2 opens fine for me and exports to pdf without problems.

'Booting up to 97%' , please explain - is this with test1, test2 or something else.
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 1281
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Husky » Sat Mar 22, 2014 9:04 pm

Hi bozzle,

your Drawing Unit and your Paper Unit is right now adjusted for Meters ... what means your Paper size is 210x297 Meters. Maybe a little bit to big for your Printer :wink:

Please change the settings to mm. You can do that for the current drawing below:
Edit / Drawing Preferences / General / Drawing Units

Or if you like to have this settings for all new drawing:
Edit / Application Preferences / Defaults for new drawings / Drawing Unit

Hope this will fix the print problem. If not .... :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

bozzle
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:58 pm

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby bozzle » Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:39 am

Guys,
Having adjusted paper size the print function operates as expected. Many thanks for your help

User avatar
Clive
Moderator / Drawing Help
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Printouts are blank

Postby Clive » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:24 am

Hey bozzle, glad you got this sorted out, enjoy QCAD :wink:

Husky
Ahh shoot, I missed the obvious with this one :roll: thanks.
For the best support please state your operating system, QCAD version and add any supporting DXF/DWG files, screenshots etc...


Return to “QCAD Community 3 Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest