← All bug reports

FS#1385Default unit for new drawings reset to Inch on restart

Type
Bug
Status
Closed
Resolution
Fixed
Category
QCAD (main)
Severity
Low
Priority
Low
Reported version
3.12.7
Operating system
All
Reported
2016-02-16 by konekted
Closed
2016-02-17 by andrew

Application Preferences > Defaults for New Drawings > Drawing Units

Do not save new selected value, It keeps "Inch".

Could be changed per file in Edit > Drawing Preferences. I normally use Millimeter. I have no tested in command line / automation mode.

Error tested in:
Mac OS X 10.11.2 El Capitan
Mac OX X 10.7.5 Server Lion
Windows 10 (also with QCad fresh install)

Comments (4)

andrew 2016-02-17

I cannot reproduce this problem here.

Please note that changing the default unit for new drawings only affects drawings that are created after the preference has been changed (using File > New).
This preference does not effect any drawing that are already open and it does not affect any of the drawings saved on disk.

Please follow this exact procedure:
1. Edit > Application Preferences > Defaults for New Drawings > Drawing Unit > Millimeter
2. OK
3. File > New
4. Edit > Drawing Preferences > General > Drawing Unit
5. Verify that drawing unit is set to 'Millimeter'

Please confirm.

Husky 2016-02-17

I have the same problem with Win XP:
My Application preferences for "Drawing unit" is mm. The last update changed my setting for that to inch. All default (QCAD start drawing) and new drawings are now in inch.
If I change my settings in Application Preferences to mm it will work during the current session for all new drawings. After a restart of QCAD the setting mm is lost and I'm back to inch ...

andrew 2016-02-17

Thanks for the details Husky, restarting causes the problem to show up indeed.

konekted 2016-02-17

Sorry, I could be more explicit in the bug description. When I told "save" I have had said "on restart" because in the session it was applied to new files.

Thank you.