Idea - Spacing dots along a line/path

This forum is for 'Work-in-Progress' QCAD user developed script Add Ons and Plug-ins.

Please use this forum to request/submit your script Add-Ons & Plug-in idea's.

Moderators: andrew, Husky, J-J

Sterling
Active Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:15 pm

Re: Idea - Spacing dots along a line/path

Post by Sterling » Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:35 pm

Groovy, thanx!

Something weird was with my drawing...the Offset would only work on a small portion of the image, and I couldn't convert it into a Polyline from segments.
My thought is that I would use the OFFSET tool to create the .125" space needed for the router bit as I carve out an image. It only works on select sections so I wonder if it is a POBCAK error that occurred when I made the image! ;)
I came up with an acceptable work-around by making a new layer and just tracing over the old one. I've only done a portion of it so far, but it seems to work.

Thanx again~!
>>>Thanx!

~Sterl~

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5641
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Idea - Spacing dots along a line/path

Post by andrew » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:59 pm

The new Paste Along Entity tool might be interesting for similar tasks in the future:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=3231

Sterling
Active Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:15 pm

Re: Idea - Spacing dots along a line/path

Post by Sterling » Tue Jan 20, 2015 7:19 pm

Wow...that looks like something I will be spending a few hours playing with!

Thanx! :D
>>>Thanx!

~Sterl~

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'Script Add-On & Plug-in challenge' - Work in Progress”