aerodynamic profiles

Please feel free to share and inspire what you use QCAD/CAM for.

Moderators: Clive, andrew

Post Reply
cki61
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:43 pm

aerodynamic profiles

Post by cki61 » Fri May 04, 2018 6:36 pm

Hi Andrew, hi Clive,

I use QCAD/CAM in most cases to produce g-code for parts needed to build model airplanes, like p. e. profiles.
In the moment I have to go the way over other programs to draw aerodynamic profiles. Interesing thing would be a possibility to simply import an xy table.
QCAD has so many options, so I wouldn't be astonished if this possibility is already implemented.

Best Regards,
Christof

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5492
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: aerodynamic profiles

Post by andrew » Tue May 08, 2018 9:24 am

Misc > Import/Export > Import Points imports points from a simple x,y list:

x1,y1
x2,y2
x3,y3
...

However, it might be more convenient to simply paste your x,y list into the QCAD command line input:
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=5579

cki61
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:43 pm

Re: aerodynamic profiles

Post by cki61 » Tue May 08, 2018 11:46 am

Thanks a lot for your hint. It's just as I assumed: there exists already possibilities!

Best Regards,
Christof

cki61
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:43 pm

Re: aerodynamic profiles

Post by cki61 » Wed May 23, 2018 9:42 am

Hi Andrew,

is there a function to connect two points by line or
convert two points into a line with the points as start- and endpoint of the line?

Reg.
Christof

MikeMillerPE
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:59 pm
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

Re: aerodynamic profiles

Post by MikeMillerPE » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:35 am

Hi,

Maybe the attached is similar to the solution you seek. It takes a text input file of x,y pairs and connects adjacent points. I used it to construct an airfoil shape from data someone posted, I think here on the QCAD forum.

Just copy the folder into the scripts folder and you should be good to go. It's set to split the text on commas, but you can change that in the code. Also, it zooms to the points imported, and if there's a bread in the data, it doesn't connect adjacent points.

Sorry, I don't seem to be able to delete what appears to be a duplicate of the image below.

Cheers,
Attachments
delineateXY.zip
(3.37 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
airfoil.png
airfoil.png (1.93 KiB) Viewed 536 times
airfoil.png
airfoil.png (1.93 KiB) Viewed 537 times
Mike Miller, P.E.

Post Reply

Return to “What do you use QCAD/CAM for?”