dwg are opened but are missing things

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
digilef
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:39 pm

dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by digilef » Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:53 pm

Hello and thanks in advance for your help !

I ma trying to find an autocad alternative mainly just to open and do main things dwg like measure things for just supervising reasons. So instead of using cracked versions i decided to use a proper bought one like qcad. So i am at the face of testing the trial version.

I tryed to open some dwg's but i am facing the problem that this dwg are opened but with missing layers. All the layers are open at the dwg but i suppose that this dwg "calls" other dwg also . All of them are at the same folder like the one that i open .
Do i have to do something else in order to see all the information ?

I am not an experienced autocad user either ! Thanks a lot for your help !

digilef
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:39 pm

Re: dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by digilef » Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:06 pm

Further more the file is opened like that ! So i have to zoom a lot until i can see it properly ! Thanks again for your help !
Attachments
7CC0AFB1-6500-4185-9119-7A3555AF9D14.jpeg
7CC0AFB1-6500-4185-9119-7A3555AF9D14.jpeg (434.97 KiB) Viewed 758 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3834
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by Husky » Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:37 pm

Hi,
digilef wrote:
Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:53 pm
Hello and thanks in advance for your help !
I tryed to open some dwg's but i am facing the problem that this dwg are opened but with missing layers. All the layers are open at the dwg but i suppose that this dwg "calls" other dwg also . All of them are at the same folder like the one that i open .
Missing layer? You're sure about that?

Anyway ... QCAD supports links to extern bitmaps but the current version doesn't support links to external drawings like dwg, dxf etc.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3834
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by Husky » Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:54 pm

digilef wrote:
Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:06 pm
Further more the file is opened like that ! So i have to zoom a lot until i can see it properly !
You used a QCAD setting what is called "Auto zoom on load".

Husky-2021.10.03-01.png
Husky-2021.10.03-01.png (55.73 KiB) Viewed 745 times

Auto zoom will zoom to everything in your drawing! Auto zoom on load will find EVERYTHING in a drawing even if it is only a lost point or forgotten leftovers. Clean the drawing from those unwanted entity's and Auto zoom will work like expected :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3834
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by Husky » Sun Oct 03, 2021 8:33 pm

Topic moved to " Pre-sales Questions".
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

digilef
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:39 pm

Re: dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by digilef » Mon Oct 04, 2021 5:02 am

Husky wrote:
Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:37 pm
Hi,
digilef wrote:
Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:53 pm
Hello and thanks in advance for your help !
I tryed to open some dwg's but i am facing the problem that this dwg are opened but with missing layers. All the layers are open at the dwg but i suppose that this dwg "calls" other dwg also . All of them are at the same folder like the one that i open .
Missing layer? You're sure about that?

Anyway ... QCAD supports links to extern bitmaps but the current version doesn't support links to external drawings like dwg, dxf etc.
What is the version that supports that ?

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1544
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: dwg are opened but are missing things

Post by CVH » Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:25 am

digilef wrote:
Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:06 pm
Further more the file is opened like that ! So i have to zoom a lot until i can see it properly ! Thanks again for your help !
Husky wrote:
Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:54 pm
Clean the drawing from those unwanted entity's and Auto zoom will work like expected
An idea could be to Select All (TA).
Reference markers have a fixed pixel size opposed to entities that might be to tiny to display.
I have seen block reference markers that were way of center of things. :wink:

Once you know where about such extreme reference points are, it is a matter of isolating one. 8)

Regards,
CVH

Post Reply

Return to “Pre-sales Questions”