Cad/Cam for specific purpose, can Qcad do this?

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

BigBangTheory
Newbie Member

Cad/Cam for specific purpose, can Qcad do this?

Post by BigBangTheory » Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:42 pm

Hello All,

May I first say a version of this was sent using the "contact us" form on the website, if the owner reads this please forget the online version, the forum is obviously better.

I write because I'm a newbie (to cad) and am really struggling with learning 3D CAD/CAM. I can follow tutorials but some of these program are so complicated. Basically I only wish to do one method of designing in 2D. Denford Ltd. make a CAD/CAM called QuickTurn 2D Design which has a demo but I can not try the CAM gcode to see if it works with my "new" refurbished CNC Lathe running on Mach3. However the CAD section is so easy to use (it's made for school kids), but it costs £168 + vat.

I have been watching some tutorials on Qcad and it looks much easier than say Solidworks or Fusion 360 etc.. but I haven't seen yet what I wish to do so I just thought if I could ask you about this point as follows...

Like in Denford's Quickturn, I wish to draw one half of a profile and the software mirrors the other half in real time to make a complete shape as one would use on a lathe ie: a rod profile. Can this be done in some version with Qcad? In other words does Qcad have a lathe/turning option?

The idea is to make these profiles and save them as .dxf files which I could then export to a program like Fusion 360 for the CAM/gcode. I know it is possible to also make the CAD in Fusion, but I have hit some walls and I don't know how to go forward, it's just to complicated.