Help

Do you have a question you want to ask an existing QCAD user about QCAD and what you can do with it? Do you want to know if a particular feature exists? This is the place to ask.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
pdlor
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:38 pm

Help

Post by pdlor » Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:42 pm

Hi All,

I am new and I am considering on purchasing the software but I need to see if you all can help me with this.

I used to use Autocad to draw this and I am wondering if someone can help me if this software is able to do the same and how?

Thank you.
Attachments
2 Reunion Grove NW.pdf
(37.37 KiB) Downloaded 33 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7189
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Help

Post by andrew » Wed Oct 28, 2020 5:33 pm

Yes, this is the type of drawing you can do with QCAD. Dimensions will look slightly different in QCAD though.

The "how" question cannot be answered in short. You'll have to use the various tools the QCAD offers to draw the various elements of your drawing. I'd start with the rectangles (for example using Draw > Rectangle with Size). Then use use the offset tool for the inner rectangles, hatch the area and in the end add the dimensions and the border.

Feel free to post back if you have any more specific questions.

User avatar
petevick
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am

Re: Help

Post by petevick » Wed Oct 28, 2020 5:37 pm

yes it can, it will do it much the same way as Autocad. I have an Autocad background, and It took me about a week, on and off, to pick up the basics and use Qcad in a meaningful way, If you can use Autcad, you can use Qcad.
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.25.2.4

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Help

Post by Husky » Wed Oct 28, 2020 7:33 pm

Yep - second that. QCAD has all the tools to easily accomplish a drawing like that one. In short: Piece of cake with QCAD!
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

pdlor
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:38 pm

Re: Help

Post by pdlor » Thu Oct 29, 2020 3:34 pm

I use this to do schematic drawing of the layout of houses. So I often start with the width (side to side of the rear fo the house). I need to be able to enter a 28'6" line horizontally.I always do multiple lines with various dimensions and mostly at right angles and some at 45 degrees.
Attachments
234 Williamstown Green NW.pdf
(43.66 KiB) Downloaded 20 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Help

Post by Husky » Thu Oct 29, 2020 8:55 pm

Still a piece of cake for QCAD. :wink:

To test it by yourself I recommend to download the free trial version of QCAD Pro below:
https://www.qcad.org/en/qcad-downloads-trial
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

pdlor
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 4:38 pm

Re: Help

Post by pdlor » Fri Oct 30, 2020 3:22 am

I have downloaded it. Just having a hard time with it. :cry:

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: Help

Post by CVH » Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:11 am

Hi,

Please ask for direct help on this forum.
Attach your trials and explain your problem.
For the free trial that would be in the QCAD Community Edition section or simply use the Chat section.

I am sure someone will jump in ... :wink:
Don't mind asking silly questions, such don't exist, there are only silly answers. :roll:

Getting used to a new application can have a steep learning curve.
Once past that, QCAD is fun ... :P

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “Pre-sales Questions”