Automatic focus on command line

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

kosmi
Registered Member

Automatic focus on command line

Post by kosmi » Wed May 17, 2023 9:47 am

I don't understand why command line needs to be activated with space bar. I have some experience from autocad and draftsight and command line is active there by default, which makes much more sense to me.
I have briefly tested keyboard and from start position keys have no functions assigned, so that shouldn't be a problem. It may be switchable in settings (space bar/always on) if you prefer that.
I would like to see more data input via command line as well, like offset distance, radius for circle etc. Again it may be just because of my previous experience, but I found it works much faster that searching for text box with mouse pointer on the other edge of the screen.

Thank you
Paul

CVH
Premier Member

Re: Automatic focus on command line

Post by CVH » Thu May 18, 2023 6:25 am

kosmi wrote:
Wed May 17, 2023 9:47 am
I have some experience from autocad and draftsight and command line is active there by default, which makes much more sense to me.
Paul, please remind that QCAD is not intended to be an ACAD clone.
kosmi wrote:
I have briefly tested keyboard and from start position keys have no functions assigned, so that shouldn't be a problem
When you start typing QCAD will lookout for known 2 key shortcut sequences (or 3 keys in some cases).
Typing key 'L' and then 'I' will almost always initiate the 'Line from 2 Points' tool, wherever the cursor is pointing.
All common key-in shortcuts are listed here:
https://www.ribbonsoft.com/archives/sho ... uts_en.pdf
Many basic tools will list the 2 key shortcut sequence also as command so that you can initiate them just the same by the command line.
See Application Preferences .. General .. Tool Settings

But not all tools do and there is an end to which 2/3 key combinations that remain unassigned.