first look and feel

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
cccplex
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:38 am

first look and feel

Post by cccplex » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:35 am

Hi, I'd like to share my notes on using QCAD. I'm using it to design my house. I am a linux user and come from draftsight. I'm glad to use QCAD now because it is quicker to draw and modify. Sorry if this is too lobbed together but I love to hear if I made some mistakes. :lol:

# Hatches

Hatches performance is good without much lag. Beacause when I hover them
in draftsight theres alot of lag.

When choosing a hatch from a dropdown list it will give me a preview but it is
one type at a time. No quick overlook of the different options. Also there
seems to be a problem with unregular hatches like gravel. The lines don't
connect.

I would love to see a meandering hatches plugin. Like the box or
dovetail joints but then focussed on filling a rectangular area.

# Modify

Move tool is a bit anoyingly combined with copy. So if I want to move quickly
theres an option window to click away. Alternatively I can drag selections
but then I cannot use midpoint handles. Also I don't know how to copy the
same selection to multiple spots without interuption.

Stretching multiple points of an entity is not possible to my knowledge. I
can use the stretch tool but this gives me a rectangular selection box and
this limits my posibilities. For example when entities are over eachother.
I hope that in the future this will become more like blender. With a freedraw
selection tool and/or shift clicking multiple nodes.

The trim tool is very usefull. It is again two tools in one, extend and trim,
but now the match is perfect because they don't overlap. Its great that the
limiting entity already take virtual extensions into account. So I can trim
without having a real intersection. This is my goto extension tool so its kinda
funny its called trim.

Trimming between two lines is a separate tool: breakout segment. This is very
usefull because now I can do alot of trims after eachother without selecting
the bounding lines. This only works if the intersections are next to eachother
but that is the case most of the times. Maybe sometimes a trimline would be
quicker but this tool is quicker in other situations.

Other tools I use alot are align and divide. Quick and easy. Maybe divide could
use an option which alows me to divide the same line continuously. But thats
just nitpicking.

Rotating is done via an option window. For preview and reference with other
points I have to click a litle arrow next to the angle. Took me a while to
find it. I would make this the default.

I think its more consistent to use an option bar for the input of rotate and
move/copy like most of the tools. It is less interuptive in my flow of drawing.

edit: I forgot to mention that the keyboard shortcuts and the widgets are also very benifitial for the speed and flow. So good job on that too.

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 5556
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: first look and feel

Post by andrew » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:50 am

Thanks for your feedback. Please post different questions / suggestions / ideas to different topics in the future. This makes it a lot easier to answer and discuss one topic at a time, thanks.
cccplex wrote:Move tool is a bit anoyingly combined with copy. So if I want to move quickly theres an option window to click away.
Edit > Application Preferences > Modify > Move/Copy > Use dialog for tool options
cccplex wrote:Also I don't know how to copy the same selection to multiple spots without interuption.
I'd use Copy or Cut and Paste for something like that.
cccplex wrote:Stretching multiple points of an entity is not possible to my knowledge. I can use the stretch tool but this gives me a rectangular selection box and this limits my posibilities. For example when entities are over eachother. I hope that in the future this will become more like blender. With a freedraw selection tool and/or shift clicking multiple nodes.
Can you please open a feature request at:
http://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.ph ... &project=1
cccplex wrote:Trimming between two lines is a separate tool: breakout segment. This is very usefull because now I can do alot of trims after eachother without selecting the bounding lines. This only works if the intersections are next to eachother
If they are not, you can use:
Modify > Break out Manual

cccplex
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:38 am

Re: first look and feel

Post by cccplex » Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:15 am

Thanks for the quick reply. I'll use seperate threads in the future.
I'd use Copy or Cut and Paste for something like that.
Yes, but then you loose the reference point handle. I think with the dialog tool option off, like you mentioned, copying around is quick enough. Thanks for pointing that out.

cccplex
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:38 am

Re: first look and feel

Post by cccplex » Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:34 pm

cccplex wrote: Yes, but then you loose the reference point handle.
The copy with reference ctrl+shift+c is covering this.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Suggestions and Feedback”