Print Preview / not plottable

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Print Preview / not plottable

Post by Husky » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:47 pm

Hi,

the new feature in QCAD Pro to make a layer plottable or not is magnificent! Thank you for that!

The only additional thing what I would like to see is that a "not plottable" layer isn't shown in the Print Preview. It is in my eyes confusing because that isn't the correct Print Preview - the physical print looks different. :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6246
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Post by andrew » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm

Yes, "print preview" is not really the accurate term but more common than the accurate term "layout". The QCAD "print preview" is really a "layout". In the interest of compatibility with other CAD systems, non-plottable layers are indeed shown in the layout.

ssobol
Newbie Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:33 pm

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Post by ssobol » Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:49 pm

So how do you use the print/don't print layer feature?

I can only toggle visibility and/or lock.

I expect to be able to see a layer on the screen but be able to set it so that it will not print.

Thanks.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Post by Husky » Tue Mar 26, 2019 1:06 am

ssobol wrote:
Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:49 pm
I expect to be able to see a layer on the screen but be able to set it so that it will not print.
Correct and you can't see them in "Print Preview.

You will find the settings for "Plottable" in the Layer Dialog (New- or Edit Layer).

Below "Application Preferences" is the possibility given to make the "Plottable column" visible in the Layer List ...

Husky-2019.03.25-01.png
Husky-2019.03.25-01.png (75.92 KiB) Viewed 1567 times

... and it will look like this:

Husky-2019.03.25-03.png
Husky-2019.03.25-03.png (16.73 KiB) Viewed 1567 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Panchdara
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: Print Preview / not plottable

Post by Panchdara » Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:32 pm

Husky wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 1:06 am
Husky-2019.03.25-03.png
That is cool! I like that. Husky, you must know all the "QCAD Wonders of the World". :D

Oh, need to restart QCAD once preferences have been set.
Win 10, QCAD 3.23

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Suggestions and Feedback”