Why I can't use / or " in block/layer names?

Please use this forum to post feedback and suggestions related to QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Post Reply
User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Why I can't use / or " in block/layer names?

Post by Husky » Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:58 am

Hi,

every time when I create a Block which needs to have a hint in the name for inch/fractional information I have to deal with a QCAD limitation. Block names (and Layer) are not allowed to use a / or ". Surprisingly °'~!@#$%^&()_-+}{][ is allowed but the / and " (which is existential in the imperial world) not.

So, if I have a block e.g. Spacer 1/4" I have to name it like Spacer 1-4 inch what is a total different declaration ... what sucks :wink:

Is there any chance to get / and " implemented? Or maybe ¼ etc.?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6252
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Why I can't use / or " in block/layer names?

Post by andrew » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:01 am

Unfortunately, these are limitations imposed by the DXF/DWG file format, not QCAD. ¼ should work though.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2594
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Why I can't use / or " in block/layer names?

Post by Husky » Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:27 am

Ok, it is what it is. :( :( :(
andrew wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:01 am
¼ should work though.
Yes it works but as you know there are a lot of fractions which has to be covered ... :cry:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD Suggestions and Feedback”