Page 1 of 1

Dynamic entries to length edit box

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 2:32 am
by jhbrasdor
Hi, I’m new to QCad. Just bought pro a few days ago. Really like the software. Hats off to the developers, nice work.

I have a suggestion for the Length edit boxes on options tool bar. I would like the ability to set the value dynamically. This would speed up drawing edits as I often don’t know or remember the value from my drawing.

Here’s how it could work. Right click on the Length edit box to evoke the context popup menu. The first menu option could be something like ‘Point-to-Point’. Select this menu option then select two points on the drawing (with default snap options). The distance between the two points will be set in the Length edit box.

Re: Dynamic entries to length edit box

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 4:24 am
by Husky
Hello jhbrasdor - welcome to the QCAD Forum,
jhbrasdor wrote:
Sat Mar 02, 2019 2:32 am
Here’s how it could work. Right click on the Length edit box to evoke the context popup menu. The first menu option could be something like ‘Point-to-Point’. Select this menu option then select two points on the drawing (with default snap options). The distance between the two points will be set in the Length edit box.
When I need information on a single entity in a drawing I use the QCAD "Property Editor". Fortunately many Properties are also editable like (e.g.) the length of a line or the size of a polygon rectangle.

Husky-2019.03.01-01.png
Husky-2019.03.01-01.png (25.46 KiB) Viewed 1853 times

Re: Dynamic entries to length edit box

Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:13 am
by andrew
Thanks for your feedback and suggestion.

I've added a feature request under:
https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker/index.p ... sk_id=1858