Hatching Help

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
Greg
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:25 am

Hatching Help

Post by Greg » Fri Jul 12, 2019 3:59 am

How can I get the blue drawing in this file to hatch .
Is there some way to wield it together so the the loops are all closed .
Or what do I have to get it to hatch .
Greg
Attachments
d17.dxf
(231.66 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2490
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Hatching Help

Post by Husky » Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:30 am

Gaps or overlapping entities are the reason for a failing HA hatch command. However - there are different possibilities to solve the issue - you may try this one first:

Select the contour, launch the hatch tool H,A. If it doesn't works then a message will tell you "Loop not closed at point .... and a small little circle (hard to see!) will show you where the first problem is located.

Husky-2019.07.11-01.png
Husky-2019.07.11-01.png (10.12 KiB) Viewed 76 times
Check the area of this circle and fix the problem. Then again, select the contour, launch the hatch tool H,A and look for the next circle. Fix it again.

Husky-2019.07.11-02.png
Husky-2019.07.11-02.png (10.17 KiB) Viewed 76 times
In this case there are three problems ...

Husky-2019.07.11-03.png
Husky-2019.07.11-03.png (11 KiB) Viewed 76 times

When everything is cleaned the HA tool will notice that and instead of the warning and the little circle indicator the hatch dialog pops up.

After choosing the intended settings it could look like this ... :wink:

Husky-2019.07.11-04.png
Husky-2019.07.11-04.png (10.42 KiB) Viewed 76 times


How to avoid this exercise? I believe you have already a clue ... :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Greg
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:25 am

Re: Hatching Help

Post by Greg » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:14 am

Thank you again Husky .Yes that help me .
Greg

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2490
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Hatching Help

Post by Husky » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:21 am

You're welcome!
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
Arie Kabaalstra
Newbie Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Hatching Help

Post by Arie Kabaalstra » Mon Jul 15, 2019 11:22 am

I also noticed that in order to have Hatch functioning properly, you must really make sure your drawing is accurate,

At the moment i'm preparing drawings to be etched, and all the material that has to "Stay" has to be Hatced with a solid fill.. I have had my fair share of problems in the past, due to "sloppy drawing"

By the way.. are you building a steam locomotive? :)

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”