How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
new2QCAD
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:56 am

How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Post by new2QCAD » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:16 am

How to move Origin Point away from LH lower point of drawing.

Where in manual will I find this operation?

Basically I want to put 20 mm between drawing and origin.

I am clearly not looking in right place.

Thanks

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 6286
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Post by andrew » Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:25 am

Note that moving the absolute zero point (or origin) is exactly the same as moving your entire drawing:

- Make sure all layers are visible
- Select > Select All
- Modify > Move / Copy
- Set reference point at new position of absolute zero point
- Click the current absolute zero point as target point or enter "0,0" in the command line and press enter
- In the dialog, choose "Delete Original"

If you find yourself moving the drawing around a lot you might want to consider using relative coordinates instead. The relative zero (small red circle with cross) positions itself automatically by default but can also be locked to a specific location.

new2QCAD
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 9:56 am

Re: How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Post by new2QCAD » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:58 pm

Thanks Andrew.

Easy when you know how.

I don't think I have ever used a small CAD package that has been easier to use, I have done a bunch of small drawings. I have never used construction lines and "set parallel line to present line" so much ever before either. Such tools are fast for this style of drawing. They all end up in a CNC machine, so its interesting.

This is an enjoyable learn.

Thanks again.

kzngmy
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:33 pm

Re: How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Post by kzngmy » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:35 pm

I tried selecting all and move/copy. It translated the drawing correctly but moved all layers to the selected layer.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2642
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Post by Husky » Sun Nov 20, 2016 5:28 pm

Hi kzngmy - welcome to the forum!
kzngmy wrote:... but moved all layers to the selected layer.
Un-tick "Use current layer and attributes" in the Move/Copy Options dialog and everything will stay on its original layer.
Husky-2016.11.20-01.png
Husky-2016.11.20-01.png (14.27 KiB) Viewed 3552 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

kzngmy
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:33 pm

Re: How to move Origin away from LH lower point of drawing?

Post by kzngmy » Sun Nov 20, 2016 8:19 pm

why didn't I see that - thanks

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”