Leader with diameter

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
frankg
Newbie Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:04 am

Leader with diameter

Post by frankg » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:55 am

I want to show a circle's diameter externally on the circumference of the circle with a leader. I created the below with a leader and text block, I entered the value manually. How do I achieve this so that the displayed text value is the actual diameter?
S0010818.jpg
S0010818.jpg (26.63 KiB) Viewed 2209 times
Qcad 3.17.3 Rev: 9c7770f on Win7Pro

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Leader with diameter

Post by Husky » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:24 pm

frankg wrote:I entered the value manually. How do I achieve this so that the displayed text value is the actual diameter?
In the current QCAD Version exist no automatic Value reading to feed a Leader Text. If the common Dimension tools are not suitable to your needs and you need for some reason the Leader tool on a regularly base then I would recommend to create Leader Blocks with an Attribute function. That still means you have to put in manually the Value but it makes your Life easier ... :wink:
Husky-2017.08.18-10.png
Husky-2017.08.18-10.png (92.68 KiB) Viewed 2193 times
I covered four possible positions what means I created 4 Blocks ...
Husky-2017.08.18-11.png
Husky-2017.08.18-11.png (14.25 KiB) Viewed 2193 times
... but honestly I use it only if I see no other way and that is not very often. :shock:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

frankg
Newbie Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:04 am

Re: Leader with diameter

Post by frankg » Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:13 pm

Thanks Husky - I will do as you suggest until such a feature is available :wink:

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”