[solved] How to delete a polyline segment between two nodes?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
yetanotheruser
Active Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:49 pm

[solved] How to delete a polyline segment between two nodes?

Post by yetanotheruser » Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:53 pm

I need to delete a polyline segment between two polyline nodes. I tried with the Delete Segments between Two Nodes tool, but this actually deletes the line and then immediately creates a new one. Quote from the documentation:
After the segments are deleted, the two limiting nodes are connected by a straight line segment so the polyline is still one continuous sequence of line segments.
In my case the two limiting nodes are actually directly the nodes between which I want to remove a segment. So, how can I remove a polyline segment between two polyline nodes?

Here's a screenshot for better illustration, I also attached the drawing.
Image


Thanks for any hint on this :)

Operating system: Windows 10 x64
QCAD version: Qcad Pro 3.19.2
Attachments
back_test.dxf
(153.07 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Last edited by yetanotheruser on Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How to delete a polyline segment between two nodes?

Post by Husky » Mon Jan 01, 2018 7:29 pm

yetanotheruser wrote:I tried with the Delete Segments between Two Nodes tool, but this actually deletes the line and then immediately creates a new one.
This tool isn't suitable for that task. It will remove a segment but keeps the polyline intact.

You are looking to delete the segment. Just explode the polyline and then select and delete the particular segment.
Husky-2018.01.01-01.png
Husky-2018.01.01-01.png (6.93 KiB) Viewed 699 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

yetanotheruser
Active Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:49 pm

Re: How to delete a polyline segment between two nodes?

Post by yetanotheruser » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:06 pm

Thank you, that did the trick :D
I was used to another meaning of "Delete Segments between two nodes" from another software.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2188
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How to delete a polyline segment between two nodes?

Post by Husky » Mon Jan 01, 2018 8:27 pm

yetanotheruser wrote:Thank you, that did the trick :D
You're welcome.
yetanotheruser wrote:I was used to another meaning of "Delete Segments between two nodes" from another software.
There is "other" software out there??? e_confused e_surprised :lol:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”