Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
User avatar
caigner
Full Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:24 pm
Location: Austria

Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by caigner » Fri Jan 05, 2018 4:58 pm

Hello everyone!

To all of you a Happy New Year!

I was just dimensioning one of my drawings and when I changed the lineweight of the layer which I used for dimensions I noticed that not only the dimension lines changed their width but also the text.

Is it possible to have thin dimension lines and the dimension text written in a different thickness? I mean other than to explode all the dimensions and putting the text onto a seperate layer?

Here I have created an example of what I would like to achieve:
QCAD_dimensions.png
example
QCAD_dimensions.png (28.86 KiB) Viewed 1037 times
Regards,
Christian
QCAD Pro on Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2190
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by Husky » Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:08 pm

Happy New Year to you too!
caigner wrote:... when I changed the lineweight of the layer which I used for dimensions I noticed that not only the dimension lines changed their width but also the text.
I need your help to understand the issue - I can't reproduce this. My example isn't exploded:
Husky-2018.01.05-01.png
Husky-2018.01.05-01.png (15.71 KiB) Viewed 1033 times
caigner wrote:Is it possible to have thin dimension lines and the dimension text written in a different thickness? I mean other than to explode all the dimensions and putting the text onto a seperate layer?
No - I assume it is a question of the used Text Font. Which one you are using?
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
caigner
Full Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:24 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by caigner » Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:23 am

Here is my unexploded example:
QCAD_dimensions_lineweight.png
QCAD_dimensions_lineweight.png (20.75 KiB) Viewed 1022 times
As you can see the text thickness changes with the lineweight.

I use "Standard" as dimension label font in the application preferences.

BTW, I am running here QCAD on a Linux box.
QCAD Pro on Gentoo Linux

User avatar
caigner
Full Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:24 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by caigner » Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:29 am

Husky, you were right regarding the font choice. I changed the dimension label font to Arial, and now the text thickness doesn't change with the lineweight of the layer.

Problem solved, although I'd love to hear from Andrew, how the font choice influences the appearance of the dimension label.
QCAD Pro on Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2190
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by Husky » Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:47 am

Hi caigner,

I can't reproduce that on Win10 - Standard / Arial are still not affected by the line weight .... :|
Husky-2018.01.06-05.png
Husky-2018.01.06-05.png (31.3 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
Husky-2018.01.06-06.png
Husky-2018.01.06-06.png (30.39 KiB) Viewed 1019 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
caigner
Full Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:24 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by caigner » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:00 am

It probably depends what "Standard" means on a given OS.

Thank you, Husky. You pointed me in the right direction and now, after changing the font to a TTF-font, everything is as I wanted it to be. :-)
QCAD Pro on Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2190
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by Husky » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:55 am

You're welcome. :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

User avatar
lphilpot
Full Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:03 am
Location: Deep South USA

Re: Dimensioning: Changing lineweight and text independently from each other

Post by lphilpot » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:07 am

caigner wrote:Husky, you were right regarding the font choice. I changed the dimension label font to Arial, and now the text thickness doesn't change with the lineweight of the layer.

Problem solved, although I'd love to hear from Andrew, how the font choice influences the appearance of the dimension label.
The standard font is comprised of CAD entities, right (lines, arcs, etc.)? So it's natural it would behave "by the same rules" the same as other geometry (lineweight, screen-based linetypes, etc.). A TrueType font would not be subject to those rules and would remain unchanged by them.

At least that's my theory. :wink:
Len
----------------------------------------
QCAD Pro on Xubuntu Linux (usually)

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”