Insertion point library parts

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
olleb61
Newbie Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:14 am
Location: Sweden

Insertion point library parts

Post by olleb61 » Fri Sep 07, 2018 6:03 pm

I have done a couple of items that i have saved as library item
but when inserting them the insertion point is not a part of the item
i would like to choose a specific point of the item or corner for that
any idea to fix it

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2521
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Insertion point library parts

Post by Husky » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:28 pm

Hi,
when you create a Block / Library Item QCAD will ask you for a Reference Point for this item. Now is the moment to choose a Reference Point which will work best for you. For the best accuracy use the QCAD Snap tools to determine the Reference Point.

Husky-2018.09.07-04.png
Husky-2018.09.07-04.png (6.67 KiB) Viewed 731 times

When you later insert this item it will be hooked to the Mouse Pointer at this reference point. During the inserting process you have the options to flip, scale, rotate etc. the item BUT you can't change the actual Reference Point.

In the case that the Reference Point is not working for you at all then you can change it with a right mouse click on the item in your Library Browser - choose Edit.

Husky-2018.09.07-06.png
Husky-2018.09.07-06.png (31.78 KiB) Viewed 731 times

The Reference Point is located at Absolute Zero (the Red cross). Just move the item and make sure that your new reference point match the red cross.

Husky-2018.09.07-05.png
Husky-2018.09.07-05.png (7.52 KiB) Viewed 731 times
Save it to the Library and you are ready to go. :wink:
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

olleb61
Newbie Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:14 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Insertion point library parts

Post by olleb61 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:08 am

Edit move and place my instertion point at absolute zero is the answer
Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”