Autocad drawing will not load to view

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
Charles Dyer
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:17 pm

Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Charles Dyer » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:01 am

Second_Flr_Plan.dxf
AutoCAD file produces no drawing in QCAD
(156.12 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
Second_Flr_Plan.dwg
AutoCAD file produces no drawing in QCAD
(102.48 KiB) Downloaded 59 times
I have a number of dwg and dxf files produced by AutoCAD which do not seem to load properly into my QCAD 3.21.3 PRO system.

For example the file Second_Flr_Plan.dwg gives the result to the linux "file" command to be

Second_Flr_Plan.dwg: DWG AutoDesk AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

That this is a real drawing is confirmed by having a friend produce a PDF from it in the usual way.

This is a consistent problem with a whole group of DWG and DXF files I have that come from AutoCAD.

When I load them, I get a blank sheet, and doing something like ZA to zoom all produces nothing visible. I have switched view to draft and back, and still nothing visible.

I must be missing something, but I cannot see what it is at this point.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

- charles

Panchdara
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Panchdara » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:59 am

I tried in AutoCAD 2016 and received errors stating invalid external references... you got files that might rely on other add-ons or are corrupt.
Win 10, QCAD 3.23

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2588
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Husky » Tue Jan 01, 2019 7:34 pm

Charles Dyer wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:01 am
That this is a real drawing is confirmed by having a friend produce a PDF from it in the usual way.
It looks to me that your "real drawing" is linked to the content (reference) of a real drawing but nothing more and the reference file isn't available.

Husky-2019.01.01-01.png
Husky-2019.01.01-01.png (11.55 KiB) Viewed 916 times
If your friend is able to produce a pdf from this dxf/dwg then your friend has the reference file ...
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Charles Dyer
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Charles Dyer » Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:59 pm

Thanks for the helpful responses. They pointed at the real problem, that being the reference to an image which I did have in PDF format, but not in the loadable format. It seems that my friend did not realise that the PDF file was not enough, and that there was another loadable file, called data04.PDF, that was required. Based on your suggestions as to the problem, I converted the original PDF background image to PNG format using pdftoppm -png on the PDF file. Then I started qcad and loaded that PNG file, and it worked.

Thanks, and cheers,

- charles

Charles Dyer
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:17 pm

Re: Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Charles Dyer » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:13 pm

Husky: How do you get qcad to provide error messages such as the one you gave about the PDF file not being available? I am having trouble finding how to generate such useful messages.

Thanks, - charles

Panchdara
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Panchdara » Wed Jan 02, 2019 9:14 am

Charles Dyer wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:13 pm
Husky: How do you get qcad to provide error messages such as the one you gave about the PDF file not being available? I am having trouble finding how to generate such useful messages.

Thanks, - charles
Same way I did.
Win 10, QCAD 3.23

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2588
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Autocad drawing will not load to view

Post by Husky » Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:11 am

Charles Dyer wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:13 pm
Husky: How do you get qcad to provide error messages such as the one you gave about the PDF file not being available? I am having trouble finding how to generate such useful messages.

Thanks, - charles
That isn't a QCAD message. That message is produced by Autodesk:
https://viewer.autodesk.com/
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”