How would you do : Twisted wires

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
tyler durden
Newbie Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 9:57 pm

How would you do : Twisted wires

Post by tyler durden » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:09 pm

Hello.

I am looking for a good Technic to make twisted wires for a layout of an electronic device.

I use the Spline (Fit Points) (SL) tools to make one, then use the Mirror (MI) tool to make the other one.
Then using the Property Editor (GP) to change the size of the lines and their colors.

I'm ok with the result, but it's long and painful.

What would you use to do it fast and with lot of control of the "size of the twists" ? I am sure there is a better way than mine with all the tools available in QCAD.

QCAD : qcad-3.21.3-pro-linux-x86_64

Exemple of twisted cables if my writing are not clear :

Image

Any advice would be appreciate.

Regards.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How would you do : Twisted wires

Post by Husky » Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:03 am

tyler durden wrote:
Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:09 pm

I use the Spline (Fit Points) (SL) tools to make one, then use the Mirror (MI) tool to make the other one.
Then using the Property Editor (GP) to change the size of the lines and their colors.
Hello,

I can't imagine that that looks twisted ....

However I don't think it makes sense to design a "free hanging twisted wire" with QCAD like the example pic. Only thing what I can think of is a twisted cable for straight wiring and corners like 90 degree etc.

For that I would design a twisted wire segment. Each wire (blue and red) on a separate layer. The wire is built with two splines and a hatch. Then I would store it as a block.

Something like this:

Husky-2019.03.06-02.png
Husky-2019.03.06-02.png (2.1 KiB) Viewed 533 times

This block can be used to built a wire of any lengths. Just move and copy it like this example which is built with 10 segments:

Husky-2019.03.06-03.png
Husky-2019.03.06-03.png (15.42 KiB) Viewed 533 times

If the wire is to big or to small just scale it ....

Husky-2019.03.06-04.png
Husky-2019.03.06-04.png (6.18 KiB) Viewed 533 times

Hope that helps a bit.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

tyler durden
Newbie Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 9:57 pm

Re: How would you do : Twisted wires

Post by tyler durden » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:18 am

Hello.

Husky, thank you very much for your time, and for your answer.
Nice one in fact.
But still, i do not understand the how, where and the why of the «hatch» tool here ?
Anyway, thank you for the time you've spend reading and answering.

Regards.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How would you do : Twisted wires

Post by Husky » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:12 am

tyler durden wrote:
Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:18 am
But still, i do not understand the how, where and the why of the «hatch» tool here ?
The hatch is used to be flexible in shape and size. Basically I drew the outline of a twisted wire on layer 0 and filled it with a solid hatch. The blue hatch is on layer blue / Line weight 0, the red hatch is on layer red / Line weight 0. After the hatch is done there is no need to keep the wire outline - just delete it.

The benefit to use layer and hatch is that you easily can scale the wire to every needed diameter and you are able to change the color in an instant.

Husky-2019.03.08-04.png
Husky-2019.03.08-04.png (39.35 KiB) Viewed 468 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

tyler durden
Newbie Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 9:57 pm

Re: How would you do : Twisted wires

Post by tyler durden » Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:34 am

Hello.

Husky, thank you very much for taking time sharing your knowledge.
It's all clear now.

Godspeed !

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: How would you do : Twisted wires

Post by Husky » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:41 am

You're welcome!
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”