Page 1 of 1

Adding a fillet to an elipse.

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 2:20 pm
by Phil O
Hi

As something of a beginner here I'm try to put fillets into the corners of an ellipse, where the ellipse is bisected by straight lines. When I click on the ellipse I get the message "entity is not a line, arc or circle". Is it possible to do this? I need to be able to hatch the result.
Fillet query.png
Fillet query.png (123.81 KiB) Viewed 1349 times
Many Thanks

Phil

Re: Adding a fillet to an elipse.

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:37 pm
by CVH
Hi,
Try:
Safeguard copy EllipseArc on temp layer
Select & Explode EllipseArc
(see App Prefs for preferences to explode ellipses)
Do your stuff

Ellipses have No mathematical closed form solution, is done by serie expansion.
The workaround is to use a very close aproximated shape with arcs.
How close is up to you.

Regards,
CVH

PS read the forum rules at the top

Re: Adding a fillet to an elipse.

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:42 pm
by CVH
If you have drew offsets to Ellipses these will be splines.
No ellips is continuous parallel to an other ellips.

Re: Adding a fillet to an elipse.

Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:26 pm
by Husky
Phil O wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 2:20 pm
When I click on the ellipse I get the message "entity is not a line, arc or circle". Is it possible to do this? I need to be able to hatch the result.
The tool is expecting a line, arc or circle for proper operation. If you click an entity and it isn't one of those you get that warning.
Phil O wrote:
Sat Aug 31, 2019 2:20 pm
Is it possible to do this? I need to be able to hatch the result.
As a rule - yes. Maybe it needs a bit modification but it should be possible. To be certain we need the drawing as a dxf or dwg or at least an example drawing with a bit more information like radius etc.