Page 1 of 1

Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:27 am
by bronic
I tried searching the forum but couldn't find the answer I need, forgive me if I missed something.

I'm curious if contour elevation data is retained when opening a .dwg file in qcad. While testing the trial version when I selected a contour I was only given an X and Y dimension in the properties toolbox.

I realize this isn't 3d CAD software, and I don't need to visualize anything in 3d. But I just need to know if I open a .dwg with contour lines containing elevation data, if that elevation info is accessible anywhere in qcad.

Thanks,
Nick

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:08 am
by Husky
Hi,
bronic wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:27 am
While testing the trial version when I selected a contour I was only given an X and Y dimension in the properties toolbox.
QCAD is a straight 2D CAD program and has very limited abilities to show z dimension. But for those cases you can activate the Z coordinates within the Property Editor.

Husky-2019.09.04-01.png
Husky-2019.09.04-01.png (11.71 KiB) Viewed 1679 times

You could also use Custom Properties to provide elevation data:

Husky-2019.09.04-02.png
Husky-2019.09.04-02.png (10.89 KiB) Viewed 1679 times


bronic wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:27 am
I realize this isn't 3d CAD software, and I don't need to visualize anything in 3d. But I just need to know if I open a .dwg with contour lines containing elevation data, if that elevation info is accessible anywhere in qcad.
That's depends on the drawing. There are different ways to give a drawing the info for the elevation. If it is a plain 2D drawing then I'm pretty sure the drafter used a 2D readable method. Is it a 3D drawing then many 3D CAD programs are able to export it as 2D or you even could use a converter to convert it a 2D what makes it usable in QCAD.

Whatsoever - If you try to open a 3D drawing with QCAD then it will properly fail.

To take out the guesswork do you have an example drawing to see what you try to accomplish?

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:30 am
by bronic
Husky,

Thanks very much for your reply. That's helpful. Here is an example of a drawing I'd like to be able to reference the elevation of the contour.

FYI, I know this file will display an elev in autocad

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:33 am
by Husky
Thanks for the exsample drawing.

Here the bad news: That is a plain 3D drawing and not meant to be proceed in QCAD. Surprisingly I can open it in QCAD but that is more luck than anything else ...
The good news is that I can read the stored values for elevation ....
Husky-2019.09.05-04.png
Husky-2019.09.05-04.png (327.99 KiB) Viewed 1668 times

... and see the 3D elevations ...

Husky-2019.09.04-03.png
Husky-2019.09.04-03.png (560.28 KiB) Viewed 1668 times

... but that is not a proper way to process a 3D drawing.

Long story short: If you have only access to 3D drawings then is QCAD not the right option to process them.

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:38 am
by bronic
Husky,

That answers my question.

Thanks so much for your help, it is appreciated!

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:09 am
by Husky
You're welcome. :wink:

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:55 pm
by CVH
Husky wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:33 am
... and see the 3D elevations ...
Can you explain how this is done?

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:12 pm
by Husky
CVH wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:55 pm
Husky wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:33 am
... and see the 3D elevations ...
Can you explain how this is done?
That was done with a non QCAD related program.

Re: Contour Elevation Data

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:02 pm
by CVH
Thanks a lot,
that explain things.