putting a center cross hair i all circles

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
User avatar
Krischu
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:11 am

putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by Krischu » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:03 am

To produce a layer for making markers for drill center-punch I would like to give all circles a center marker (a crosshair of some mm)

Could I do that with a command (script) or at least by clicking on all circles one after another or use a selection?
--
Christoph

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by CVH » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:27 am

QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by CVH » Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:40 am

OK, this doesn't work with modify / move
But it does with Edit / Copy with reference and Edit / Paste.

Draw the crosshair you want somewhere.
Select all circles
Misc / Information / Store Positions (Uses centerpoint)
Select all of your crosshair
Edit / Copy with reference
Provide reference point
Edit / Paste

Where?
Aha:
Misc / Information / Use Positions

First time I used it for real.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by Husky » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:36 pm

Krischu wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:03 am
... or at least by clicking on all circles one after another
Menu / Misc / Draw / Centerline Cross
Adjust the options to your needs ...
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

User avatar
Krischu
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:11 am

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by Krischu » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:21 am

As always, there are several ways leading to Rome :)

Thanks @CVH also and question: is there a way do "select all circles" with either Filter tool or from command line ?
--
Christoph

User avatar
Krischu
Senior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:11 am

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by Krischu » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:53 am

Husky wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:36 pm
Krischu wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 11:03 am
... or at least by clicking on all circles one after another
Menu / Misc / Draw / Centerline Cross
Adjust the options to your needs ...
This Centerline Cross option (CS) is behaving strange? Once having checked the option, the check sign stays.
And suddenly it is gone. It does not behave as expected, like toggling it.

How do I get the centerline cross make disappear again?
--
Christoph

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by CVH » Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:34 am

Krischu wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:21 am
Question: is there a way do "select all circles" with either Filter tool or from command line ?
Select + Shift select: one by one
Draw R select + Shift Draw R select: some by some if fully included in draw
Draw L select + Shift Draw L select: some by some if intersect by draw
If all on a seperate Layer: Layer / Select Layer Entities Y+
With the Selection Filter:
Entity type: Circle (or any kind you like)
Be productive with Property and Comparison enrties.
.....
...

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by Husky » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:36 pm

Krischu wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:53 am
How do I get the centerline cross make disappear again?
The Centerline Cross is created with two line entities. Just treat them like every other entity in QCAD.
CVH wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:34 am
Draw R select + Shift Draw R select: some by some if fully included in draw
Draw L select + Shift Draw L select: some by some if intersect by draw
I searched QCAD for two hours but haven't found a command like Draw R select or Draw L select ..... :wink:
I think it would be easier for a user who is seeking for help if the answer sticks closer to the original used tool name.
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: putting a center cross hair i all circles

Post by CVH » Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:04 pm

Husky wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:36 pm
Krischu wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:53 am
How do I get the centerline cross make disappear again?
The Centerline Cross is created with two line entities. Just treat them like every other entity in QCAD.
The Selection Filter can come in handy too.
Probably those lines have the same lenght.
Husky wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:36 pm
CVH wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:34 am
Draw R select + Shift Draw R select: some by some if fully included in draw
Draw L select + Shift Draw L select: some by some if intersect by draw
I searched QCAD for two hours but haven't found a command like Draw R select or Draw L select ..... :wink:
I think it would be easier for a user who is seeking for help if the answer sticks closer to the original used tool name.
In your words:
  • Lower left to upper right selection
    Lower right to upper left selection
https://qcad.org/bugtracker/index.php?d ... ask_id=887

Neither me could find a naming.

With Active Tool: None
Clicking near any is selecting only that.
Shift-Click is add or remove it from the selection.
Click and hold and draw the pointer from 'Lower left to upper right' is selecting all fully inside the rectangle that was drew.
Click and hold and draw the pointer from 'Lower right to upper left' is selecting all fully inside and intersected by the rectangle that was drew.
Shift-Click-Hold-Draw LLUR adds those to the selection.
Shift-Click-Hold-Draw LRUL adds those to the selection.

The first is easy: Selecting
Please enlighten us with the other 5 original used tool names.

I may have come across a tutorial or another publication.
Maybe an older copy of the manual or by a fork.
If there was a naming in it, it might not got sticked.
Otherwise I would use them.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”