[solved] Editting a dimension text

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

[solved] Editting a dimension text

Post by RaNoPlus » Thu May 14, 2020 7:51 am

Hi,
Is there any way to edit the dimension text. It means manually overwrite the value. For example the measured distance is 1460mm but I want to make it 1500 (to make it 'round/ nice value'). So normally In AutoCad I would select the option of a "new value". How does it work in Qcad? Is there also a special command? The value-box in preference window is 'grey' so I can't fill there anything. I know when making a dimension you can select between a measured value of a fixed value I can fill in.
Thanks for your help.
Regards Radek

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7204
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Editting a dimension text

Post by andrew » Thu May 14, 2020 8:06 am

View > Property Editor

Then select one (or multiple) dimensions and change the property "Label".

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3322
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Editting a dimension text

Post by Husky » Thu May 14, 2020 8:08 am

Hi,

you can overwrite the value Label within the Property Editor.

Select the DIM and change it in the Property Editor:

Husky-2020.05.13-03.png
Husky-2020.05.13-03.png (28.79 KiB) Viewed 341 times


To make a notation you can use <> which will represent the real value plus text like <> (Imperial)

That looks like this:

Husky-2020.05.13-04.png
Husky-2020.05.13-04.png (31.77 KiB) Viewed 341 times

Mouse pointer right click on the Label field will give you access to symbols ...

Husky-2020.05.14-05.png
Husky-2020.05.14-05.png (42.96 KiB) Viewed 341 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

RaNoPlus
Active Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:04 pm

Re: Editting a dimension text

Post by RaNoPlus » Thu May 14, 2020 9:50 am

Husky wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 8:08 am
Hi,

you can overwrite the value Label within the Property Editor.

Select the DIM and change it in the Property Editor:


Husky-2020.05.13-03.png



To make a notation you can use <> which will represent the real value plus text like <> (Imperial)

That looks like this:


Husky-2020.05.13-04.png


Mouse pointer right click on the Label field will give you access to symbols ...


Husky-2020.05.14-05.png
Hi Husky, Great, thank you. This is exactly what I was looking for. Problem solved.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”