Block reference points

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
tdwyer
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 7:34 pm

Block reference points

Post by tdwyer » Mon May 18, 2020 7:49 pm

I've created a block (a square with a criss-cross in it) with a reference point in the lower left corner. I've mirrored this such that there is a gap between the two blocks. I want to measure the distance between the two blocks, but, there are no reference points other than in the one corner. And I can't snap to those reference points. Is there a way to snap to these corners or other control points of the block elements? I could explode the block, but that defeats the purpose of using blocks. See the attached drawing.

Windows 8, QCAD 3.24.3.0
Attachments
Question1.dwg
(22.64 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7199
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Block reference points

Post by andrew » Mon May 18, 2020 8:44 pm

The blocks have been inserted on layer "Dims_Detail". Layer "Dims_Detail" has its attribute "Snappable" set to "No", in other words, snapping is disabled for that layer.

tdwyer
Registered Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 7:34 pm

Re: Block reference points

Post by tdwyer » Mon May 18, 2020 10:25 pm

Excellent! Thank you very much.

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”