[SOLVED] dimension text colour

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
User avatar
petevick
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am

[SOLVED] dimension text colour

Post by petevick » Tue May 19, 2020 10:52 am

Hi, very new to Qcad, but very used to AutoCad and Draftsight, somewhat less used to LibreCad. Still finding my way around.
I wanted to change the global setting for dimension text colour, but cannot see or find a way to set that attribute in either Drawing or Application preferences. I know this can be done in LibreCad, so was surprised not to be able to find a similar setting in Qcad. Short of exploding the dimension, could someone point me in the right direction please.
Many Thanks
Last edited by petevick on Fri May 29, 2020 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.25.2.4

Panchdara
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: dimension text colour

Post by Panchdara » Tue May 19, 2020 1:33 pm

Hi. I've not seen that option. However, my workflow will be to give dimensions their own layer and use a specific colour to layers labeled "Dimensions". I might have multiple layers and their sub-layers. Each layer represents a certain part of the drawing (build) and each part will have it's own dimensions, such as "Kitchen/Doors/Door1+Door2+Door3+Dimensions" where the "Dimensions" layer has dimensions for all the Kitchen doors or however you like to hierarchy the layers. Just my way of organising things.

Best
QCAD 3.25.2.4 / Windows 10 2004 x86_64

User avatar
petevick
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am

Re: dimension text colour

Post by petevick » Tue May 19, 2020 1:42 pm

Panchdara wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 1:33 pm
Hi. I've not seen that option. However, my workflow will be to give dimensions their own layer and use a specific colour to layers labeled "Dimensions". I might have multiple layers and their sub-layers. Each layer represents a certain part of the drawing (build) and each part will have it's own dimensions, such as "Kitchen/Doors/Door1+Door2+Door3+Dimensions" where the "Dimensions" layer has dimensions for all the Kitchen doors or however you like to hierarchy the layers. Just my way of organising things.

Best
And that is exactly how I work regarding layers, but in Autocad/Draftsight/Librecad I've always been able to set the dimension text colour to green with the layer default colour as yellow. At the moment I have dimension lines and text all yellow. Thanks for the reply btw.
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.25.2.4

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: dimension text colour

Post by CVH » Tue May 19, 2020 1:55 pm

Having your Dims on designated layers there are two options:
By Layer (mainstream)
or
Individual (not common)

In the Layer List select the Dims layer and all its entities (Y+)
or for the document isolate dims with the Selection Filter
Addapt selection color property as you like.

So in Qcad it is not a preset but an aply lateron.

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

User avatar
petevick
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am

Re: dimension text colour

Post by petevick » Tue May 19, 2020 2:09 pm

CVH wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 1:55 pm
Having your Dims on designated layers there are two options:
By Layer (mainstream)
or
Individual (not common)

In the Layer List select the Dims layer and all its entities (Y+)
or for the document isolate dims with the Selection Filter
Addapt selection color property as you like.

So in Qcad it is not a preset but an aply lateron.

Regards,
CVH
but doesn't that change the colour of both the dimension lines and text, I want to change the dimension text colour different to the dimension line colour
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.25.2.4

Panchdara
Senior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: dimension text colour

Post by Panchdara » Tue May 19, 2020 6:25 pm

petevick wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 2:09 pm

but doesn't that change the colour of both the dimension lines and text, I want to change the dimension text colour different to the dimension line colour
As this thread progressed, that's what I realised you meant.

Yeah, You want the tick marks in one colour and the actual numerals in another. 'fraid I've not seen that in QCAD. That being said, not sure if it's part of the DXF/DWG standard? I'm inclined to relate the same colour of text(numerals) and the tick lines as being related (they are) to each other and not distract from their function????

I can't see why the dimension numeral colour should differ from the tick marks that are bound to those numerals.
QCAD 3.25.2.4 / Windows 10 2004 x86_64

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7199
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: dimension text colour

Post by andrew » Tue May 19, 2020 7:46 pm

I can confirm this is not currently possible in QCAD (dimensions have a uniform color for dimension lines, extension lines, arrows and text labels).

User avatar
petevick
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am

Re: dimension text colour

Post by petevick » Tue May 19, 2020 8:15 pm

andrew wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 7:46 pm
I can confirm this is not currently possible in QCAD (dimensions have a uniform color for dimension lines, extension lines, arrows and text labels).
Thanks for the confirmation Andrew. Maybe I should suggest it to be included in a future update.
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.25.2.4

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7199
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: dimension text colour

Post by andrew » Fri May 29, 2020 9:49 am

This has been implemented for snapshot 3.24.3.7.

User avatar
petevick
Full Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 9:34 am

Re: dimension text colour

Post by petevick » Fri May 29, 2020 9:51 am

Thanks Andrew 8)
Pete Vickerstaff
Linux Mint 20.0 Cinnamon, Qcad Pro 3.25.2.4

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”