Can I Move and type distance

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
clocey
Newbie Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 10:57 pm

Can I Move and type distance

Post by clocey » Fri May 22, 2020 10:45 pm

I use Autodesk ACAD Electrical at work and with that I can grab a line and start to move it then type the distance on the keyboard to move a specified amount. Is this possible with QCAD? Or how do I draw a line a specific length without depending on grid snaps?

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: Can I Move and type distance

Post by Husky » Sat May 23, 2020 12:13 am

clocey wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 10:45 pm
I use Autodesk ACAD Electrical at work and with that I can grab a line and start to move it then type the distance on the keyboard to move a specified amount. Is this possible with QCAD?
Sure - there are a bunch of possibilities to do that ...

One could be:
select the line,
launch the move/copy tool,
chose a reference point (doesn't matter where in this case),
launch the coordinate tool,
an option bar will pop up,
fill in the values for X and Y - confirm with the green arrow at the right side of the option bar,
chose the option in the dialog window which suits your needs,
confirm with OK - done.

Alternative: You can use the mouse, the command line or the arrow keys on your keyboard to move selected entities.

clocey wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 10:45 pm
Or how do I draw a line a specific length without depending on grid snaps?
To keep the forum searchable please post only one question or directly related questions per topic. Thanks

https://www.qcad.org/rsforum/viewtopic. ... 063#p28063
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”