Change a fill colour to solid white?

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
Iharch
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 11:28 am

Change a fill colour to solid white?

Post by Iharch » Sat May 30, 2020 1:36 pm

I'm trying to change a solid fill colour to solid white. I don't seem to have problems changing a solid fill to any other colour but for some reason when I select 'White' from the 'colour' drop down list and choose 'white' the fill turns solid black.

I have attached an image to demonstrate this.

Solid fill 'B' should be white and not black.
Screenshot 2020-05-30 at 13.25.48.png
Screenshot 2020-05-30 at 13.25.48.png (25.99 KiB) Viewed 294 times
Many thanks,
iharch

User avatar
andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 7199
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:07 am

Re: Change a fill colour to solid white?

Post by andrew » Sat May 30, 2020 1:41 pm

Please refer to:
https://qcad.org/en/tutorial-adjusting- ... ound_Color
-> Drawing in the Background Color

Iharch
Newbie Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 11:28 am

Re: Change a fill colour to solid white?

Post by Iharch » Sat May 30, 2020 4:44 pm

Fantastic, that helped.

There are occasions where I need to have white solid fills when working using a white background.

I have found that in an example of a window on elevation, drawing the window and then putting a blank 'masking' background behind it and making a block of the two can save considerable time when drawing elevations. If the window is placed over a brick hatch and then I decide to change the location of the window, I can just drag it or move it into place. The alternative with hatches / islands etc., would be to move the window and then spend more mouse clicks adjusting hatch boundaries.

A really good alternative compared to the 'Autocad' procedures. Autocad die-hards, will raise their hands in horror about this but I found this a time saver when using other CAD systems.

I've changed my app preferences now, thank you.

I would also like to thank you for your time in writing and developing this application.

Kind regard,
iharch

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”