[solved] main window opens with bottom below screen

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules
Always indicate Operating system, QCAD version
Attach Drawing files, Screenshots
Post one question per topic.
Post Reply
jamby
Active Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

[solved] main window opens with bottom below screen

Post by jamby » Wed Jun 17, 2020 2:36 am

Hi

Version:
3.18.1.0 (3.18.1)
Internet:
QCAD.org
Build Date:
Oct 4 2017
Revision:
24e23aa
Qt Version:
5.8.0
Architecture:
x86_64
Compiler:
gcc 4.8.1

CentOS Linux release 7.8.2003 (Core)

When I start up the program the bottom of the main window is below the toolbar at the bottom screen. I have tired several different methods to bring the bottom up. Alt-F8, windows button / mouse, etc.
Also the box in the center of the three selections in the upper right corner ot the main window is missing.

Is there a file that can be edited that contains the size of the window on opening?

Thanks
Jim
Last edited by jamby on Fri Nov 20, 2020 3:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 3314
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: main window opens with bottom below screen

Post by Husky » Wed Jun 17, 2020 4:47 am

jamby wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 2:36 am
Is there a file that can be edited that contains the size of the window on opening?
Hi,

it's probably easier to start from zero than try to fix it. How to reset the QCAD configuration can be find in this tutorial:

https://qcad.org/en/tutorial-resetting- ... figuration
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro

If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title...". Thanks!

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 1033
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm
Location: Belgium; Antwerp

Re: main window opens with bottom below screen

Post by CVH » Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:04 am

jamby wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 2:36 am
Is there a file that can be edited that contains the size of the window on opening?
Yes, and no: QCAD3.ini
That part isn't human-readable. :?

A reset will start from scratch as a first installation.
Easy when there is not a lot of customization involved.

I posted a gentle approach on how to reset placements of Widgets and Toolbars a while ago.
https://www.qcad.org/rsforum/viewtopic. ... 795#p26771

Give that a try before resetting the lot. :wink:

Regards,
CVH
QCADpro 3.25.2.1 / win7pro 32 bit / 4GB / 1e generation i7 2.6Ghz / HDD GeForce GT 520

jamby
Active Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:41 pm

Re: main window opens with bottom below screen

Post by jamby » Wed Jun 17, 2020 4:28 pm

Husky, CVH
After closing the current Qcad session then deleting the .config/QCAD/QCAD3.ini file when I started up Qcad it came back to normal screen size.
Thanks much
Jim

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”