Page 1 of 1

Isometric dimension

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 6:52 pm
by Metsatõll
Hello!
I use op win 10 Architecture: x86_64 - QCAD version: 3.25.2.0
18.dxf
(276.58 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
Why can't a dimension be fitted correctly in an isometric drawing? It is at a right angle, but should come as an angle drawn in purple. I have made various changes in the settings, but it hasn't worked as I would want to.
Thank you!

Re: Isometric dimension

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 7:28 pm
by Husky
Yes, I second that. Would be nice if QCAD could handle that too ....

Maybe you should file a Feature Request below:
https://www.qcad.org/bugtracker

Re: Isometric dimension

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 7:57 pm
by andrew
Metsatõll wrote:
Fri Oct 23, 2020 6:52 pm
Why can't a dimension be fitted correctly in an isometric drawing?
All dimension tools are meant to be used for 'flat', unprojected drawings.

You can use the projection tool Modify > Projection > Isometric Projection to project a dimension from a flat drawing into an isometric drawing. Note how the result fits in with the rest of the isometric drawing (middle) as opposed to a 'real' dimension (right) which would look awkward.
Screenshot 2020-10-23 at 20.54.14.png
Screenshot 2020-10-23 at 20.54.14.png (37.1 KiB) Viewed 313 times

Re: Isometric dimension

Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:42 pm
by Metsatõll
Yes, it can also be done like that... but. Now such a thing has happened that the properties of a dimension are not as a single block, so that its movement is not uniform. I'm used to doing this by drawing the thing first and then measuring.