[solved] "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Use this forum to ask questions about how to do things in QCAD.

Moderator: andrew

Forum rules

Always indicate your operating system and QCAD version.

Attach drawing files and screenshots.

Post one question per topic.

Post Reply
Russell Ault
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 3:09 am

[solved] "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by Russell Ault » Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:52 pm

QCAD 3.25.2 Professional
Windows 10 Professional

Hi there!

I'm starting to build up a small library for myself and I've run into a slightly annoying quirk: every time I create a library Item, the "Save As" dialogue comes up in the "C:\Program Files\QCAD" folder, as opposed to the directory I added in Application Preferences or even the last folder I saved a library item to. Is there some way to change which directory the "Save As" dialogue starts in?

Thanks!

-Russ
Last edited by Russell Ault on Sat Oct 31, 2020 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Husky
Moderator/Drawing Help/Testing
Posts: 4935
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 9:25 am
Location: USA

Re: "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by Husky » Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:45 pm

Russell Ault wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:52 pm
Is there some way to change which directory the "Save As" dialogue starts in?
Unfortunately the current QCAD version does not support this option what means the "Save As" folder is controlled by Windows.

Maybe it helps a bit to set a "Quick access" for the most needed folders in Windows. Just navigate to the folder, right mouse click on it, chose "Pin to Quick access" and it will be listed on the left side in your "Windows Explorer". You can then move it (up - down) with the left mouse to what ever order works best for you ...

Husky-2020.10.30-01.png
Husky-2020.10.30-01.png (41.65 KiB) Viewed 7432 times
Work smart, not hard: QCad Pro
Win10/64, QcadPro, QcadCam version: Current.
If a thread is considered as "solved" please change the title of the first post to "[solved] Title..."

Russell Ault
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 3:09 am

Re: "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by Russell Ault » Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:57 pm

Husky wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:45 pm
Unfortunately the current QCAD version does not support this option what means the "Save As" folder is controlled by Windows. [...]
Ah okay; it's strange because the "Save As" dialogue for saving files (i.e. "File"->"Save As...") takes me to the last folder used, but not for the "Create Library Item" button. Ah well.

Thanks!

-Russ

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3418
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by CVH » Sat Oct 31, 2020 3:50 am

Husky wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:45 pm
the "Save As" folder is controlled by Windows.
Noop see: CreateLibraryItem.js

Code: Select all

    var res = File.getSaveFileName(
        EAction.getMainWindow(),
        qsTr("Save library item as..."),
        RSettings.getLaunchPath() + "/libraries",
        filterStrings);
What means that the file "save as" folder = the launch path + "/libraries"
=> Not controlled by Windows ... Hardcoded in QCAD

One could file a feature request ... ;-)

Regards,
CVH

Russell Ault
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 3:09 am

Re: "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by Russell Ault » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:18 am

CVH wrote:
Sat Oct 31, 2020 3:50 am
Noop see: CreateLibraryItem.js

Code: Select all

    var res = File.getSaveFileName(
        EAction.getMainWindow(),
        qsTr("Save library item as..."),
        RSettings.getLaunchPath() + "/libraries",
        filterStrings);
What means that the file "save as" folder = the launch path + "/libraries"
=> Not controlled by Windows ... Hardcoded in QCAD

One could file a feature request ... ;-)
[...]
Okay, that's what I figured. Now that I know where it is I can probably fix it myself; does QCAD accept community contributions?

Thanks!

-Russ

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3418
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by CVH » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:28 am

One should file this at bugtracker ...
... and let Andrew handle this. :wink:
https://www.ribbonsoft.com/bugtracker/

CVH

Russell Ault
Newbie Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 3:09 am

Re: "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by Russell Ault » Sat Oct 31, 2020 6:25 pm

CVH wrote:
Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:28 am
One should file this at bugtracker ...
... and let Andrew handle this. :wink:
[...]
Done.

I ask about community contributions because most of the FLOSS software I work with is more than happy to accept pull requests (a few officially state that feature requests submitted with patches will be more likely to be implemented, although I suspect this is unofficially true of all of them). That said, I would imagine that the dual-licensing of the QCAD codebase makes contribution licensing a much more technical process than it is for those other projects.

Thanks!

-Russ

CVH
Premier Member
Posts: 3418
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:17 pm

Re: [solved] "Create Library Item" [BT] starting save directory

Post by CVH » Thu Oct 14, 2021 11:09 am

All,

Should be fixed in the next release (> 3.26.4.9).
The script on GitHub is already updated by Andrew, thanks.

One can delete any custom created folder and/or file before updating QCAD. :wink:

Regards,
CVH

Post Reply

Return to “QCAD 'How Do I' Questions”